IMPORTANT!
MOST CURRENT NUTSHELLS & HORNBOOKS ARE
AVAILABLE IN WEST ACADEMIC STUDY AIDS DATABASE
VIA TREATISES, PRACTICE GUIDES & STUDY AIDS DATABASE LIST
Call Number: Law Stacks ; KF1375 .H96 2020
ISBN: 9781684674619
Publication Date: 2019-12-05
This comprehensive guide explains the law of agency, partnership, and limited liability companies, and includes numerous references to the Restatement of the Law Third - Agency and the most recent versions of the partnership and LLC statutes.
The Law of Corporations in a Nutshell by R. Freer
Call Number: Law Stacks ; KF1414.3 .H35 2020
ISBN: 9781684672394
Publication Date: 2020-08-18
Completely revised and updated, conversational in tone, the book summarizes all major forms of business, not simply the corporation.
Business Organizations Law by T. L. Hazen & J. D. Cox
Call Number: Law Stacks ; KF1414 .C694 2011
ISBN: 9780314160102
Publication Date: 2011-06-02
Clear, succinct, descriptions of the reasoning and policy issues underlying corporate law that is accessible to law students with no business or economic background. The 2011 edition is thoroughly updated to include recent Delaware and other leading decisions focused on fiduciary obligations and duties in corporate acquisitions, state and statutory developments affecting corporations including the Dodd-Frank Act of 2010, the changing landscape of securities fraud suits in the federal courts, new discussions of unincorporated forms of business, insightful explanations of such news-making issues as corporate governance and director liabilities, and coverage of LLCs and LLPs.
Taxation of S Corporations in a Nutshell by D. Kahn, J. Kahn, & T. Perris
Call Number: Law Stacks ; KF6491.Z9 K34 2017
ISBN: 9781683282204
Publication Date: 2017-02-24
Eligibility to qualify as an S corporation -- Effect of an S election -- Shareholder's basis in S corporation's stock and debt obligations -- Limitations on deductions -- Distributions received from an S corporation -- Termination of election -- Taxation of passive investment income -- Taxation of built-in gains -- Fringe benefits.
Federal Income Taxation of Partners and Partnerships in a Nutshell by K. Burke
Call Number: Law Stacks ; KF6452.Z9 B87 2020
ISBN: 9781684674312
Publication Date: 2019-11-07
Introduction to partnership taxation -- Organization of a partnership -- Partnership tax accounting -- Partnership allocations -- Contributed property: section 704(c) -- Partnership liabilities -- Partner-partnership transactions -- Transfers of partnership interests -- Partnership distributions -- Death or retirement of a partner.
Incorporate Your Business by A. Mancuso
Call Number: Law Reference Stacks; KF1420.Z9 M36 2021
ISBN: 1413328768
Publication Date: 2021-06-29
Form a corporation in any state, quickly and easily Forming a corporation has many advantages, and with the step-by-step instructions in this book, the process is straightforward and easy to accomplish. Incorporate Your Business clearly explains how to form a corporation in any state. It includes all the sample forms and information you need to prepare articles of incorporation and bylaws. It also fully discusses the advantages and tax consequences of incorporating your business, including Limited liability: Business owners limit their personal liability by incorporating, because they aren't responsible for business debts and court judgments. Tax advantages: Especially for smaller businesses, the ability to split income between yourself and your corporation can significantly lower your overall tax burden. Employee perks: Owners of a corporation who also work for it can take advantage of significant financial benefits like equity plans, stock options, corporation-paid insurance, and more.
Mastering Corporations and Other Business Entities by L. Harris
Call Number: Law Stacks ; KF1355 .H37
ISBN: 9781594604447
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Although the vast majority of law students take a corporations or basic business organizations course, there are surprisingly few attempts to systematically organize the most important doctrine and theories covered. Of the few books that track the basic business law course, even fewer still are of recent vintage. This book attempts to fill those lacunas by giving the reader a sense of the theory and history of business law along with providing a thorough review of doctrine. Mastering Corporations and Other Business Entities is intended to reach students in the basic Corporations or Business Organizations courses. This concise book attempts to make the core coverage of these courses--agency principles, partnership law, fiduciary duties, securities fraud, and changes in corporate control--as easy and straightforward as possible. Additionally, this book would be a useful resource to students in related law school courses, such as Agency and Partnership, Closely Held Firms, Mergers and Acquisitions, and Securities Regulation. Mastering Corporations and Other Business Entities may also be helpful to both the graduate student in business administration who is enrolled in a basic business law course and the newly minted corporate attorney who wants a refresher text.
Included in this section are selected books (in print) located via our Library Catalog and available for use in our Library and /or available for circulation.
IMPORTANT: MOST CURRENT NUTSHELLS & HORNBOOKS ARE AVAILABLE VIA OUR
WEST ACADEMIC STUDY AIDS DATABASE
Call Number: Law Reserve Stacks KF 975 .L68 2014
ISBN: 0314288503
Publication Date: 2014-06-21
Authoritative coverage provides a foundation for understanding recent developments in banking and financial institutions. This Nutshell title covers subjects such as increased competition, deregulation, bank and thrift failures, large-scale bailout, and restructuring efforts. Unresolved challenges include budget stimulus, deficits, and renewed supervision by regulators.
Federal Banking Laws and Regulations by H. De C. Williams
Call Number: Law Stacks KF 974 D43
ISBN: 1590314735
Publication Date: 2006-12-04
This easy-to-read guidebook is designed for lawyers who are new to banking law or are very seasoned practitioners who on occasion need to research banking law issues. The focus of the guidebook is to show how major bank regulations are structured and how they apply to different types of institutions and holding companies.
Hornbook on Bank Regulation by M.P. Malloy
Call Number: Law Reserve Stacks KF 974 .M35
ISBN: 0314238654
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
This softcover Hornbook offers details & comprehensive treatment of basic rules, principles & issues relating to the law of bank regulation. As a comprehensive text, it contains material from the early history of bank regulation through contemporary developments & the current regulatory environment.
Advising the Small Business by J. L. Batman
Call Number: Law Stacks KF 1659 .B38 2011
ISBN: 9781614380771
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
Advising the Small Business, Second Edition is a guide for general practitioners, small firm attorneys, and lawyers engaged in providing legal counsel to small, privately-held businesses. It provides extensive guidance on a number of issues that small businesses commonly face, as well as sample documents, checklists, and resources for obtaining additional forms and information.
Consumer Protection Law in a Nutshell by D. Pridgen & G. Marsh
Call Number: Law Reserve Stacks KF 1610 .M37 2016
ISBN: 1634604717
Publication Date: 2016-09-02
This reliable source explores traditional and emerging areas in consumer protection law. Federal and state law dealing with consumer transactions is covered, including caselaw and statutes. The volume begins with an overview of public (both FTC and CFPB) and private enforcement actions to regulate the marketplace. The remaining chapters track the legal aspects of consumer transactions in a roughly chronological fashion, starting with advertising and marketing, consumer privacy, credit reports and identity theft, and equal access to credit. The discussion continues with coverage of mandated disclosures as well as substantive protections for consumers under the federal credit laws, especially the Truth in Lending Act (TILA), including installment sales, credit cards and real estate related financing. Special issues relating to TILA enforcement, as well as a discussion of related federal statutes, and regulation of the cost of credit are also covered. Post-transaction issues such as raising claims and defenses against third party financers (Holder in Due Course), warranties, default and debt collection, are included. Last but not least, there is a chapter on the law affecting various forms of payment for consumer transactions, including credit and debit cards.
The Lawyer's Business Valuation Handbook by S. P. Pratt & A. V. Niculita
Call Number: Law Stacks KF 1416 .P73 2010
ISBN: 1604428031
Publication Date: 2013-12-07
Highly technical and often difficult to understand, business valuations are a critical subject for lawyers in many areas, such as divorce, bankruptcy, corporate and tax law, and estate and financial planning. This authoritative reference will help you understand and evaluate expert reports and testimony on a broad range of business valuation issues. The authors, who have over 40 years of combined experience in transactional matters and litigation, present and discuss key concepts in valuation. At the same time, they explain how to dig beneath the surface of expert opinions and show how to find the most pertinent facts, interpret the data, and evaluate the quality and comprehensiveness of evidence. This easy-to-use manual covers all aspects of determining the value of a business, including definitions of value; personal versus enterprise goodwill, valuing professional practices and small businesses, cross-examination, commonly used terminology and bodies of evidence, professional credentials and standards; and recognized and accepted valuation methods. Adding to the book s usefulness are "Questions to Ask" for most sections, extensive case citations throughout to courts positions on many issues, and appendices that include a glossary, bibliography of business valuation databases, and other useful tools."
Call Number: Law Stacks HD2358.5.U6 A38
ISBN: 9781412960267
Publication Date: 2007-09-13
The papers in this volume of The ANNALS review the three ingredients to creating a successful business: o Skill level and capability of the entrepreneur or the management team o Access to financial resources and venture capital o Market accessibility for the products or services provided by the enterprise Those involved in the disciplines of business, organization studies, small business/entrepreneurship, strategic management and business policy, economic and development studies, and ethnic studies will find this volume of The ANNALS to be an important and fitting collection of substantial and relevant research as well as a springboard for future research in this growing area of study.
Emerging Companies Guide by A. S. Gutterman & R. L. Brown
Call Number: Law Stacks KF 1355 .E46 2011
ISBN: 9781616328313
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
A comprehensive, handy resource of key legal and business aspects of forming, organizing, operating and developing emerging/growth-oriented businesses.
Handbook of Research on Innovation and Entrepreneurship by D. B. Audretsch, O. Falck, et al.
Call Number: Law Stacks HB615 .H36
ISBN: 9781848440876
Publication Date: 2011-02-28
This path-breaking Handbook analyses the foundations, social desirability, institutions and geography of innovation and entrepreneurship. Leading researchers use their outstanding expertise to investigate various aspects in the context of innovation and entrepreneurship such as growth, knowledge production and spillovers, technology transfer, the organization of the firm, industrial policy, financing, small firms and start-ups, and entrepreneurship education as well as the characteristics of the entrepreneur. There is much in this Handbook that will prove to be informative and stimulating, especially for academics and post-graduate students in economics and management. Those starting a PhD in innovation or entrepreneurship will find this book essential reading.
Judicial Entrepreneurship by W. V. McIntosh & C. L, Cates
Call Number: Law Stacks KF8775 .M36
ISBN: 0313305196
Publication Date: 1997-10-28
A fresh and provocative perspective on the judicial process and the transmission of ideas into law. Professors McIntosh and Cates demonstrate, through the actions and writings of such diverse jurists as Louis Brandeis, Sandra Day O'Connor, Jerome Frank, and Hans Linde, how judges' pet intellectual projects become the fodder for new ideas in the law. Through a series of case studies, Professors McIntosh and Cates argue for the assessment of judicial activity from a fresh perspective. They focus on the appellate system and those judges who help to move the law--i.e., entrepreneurs. Appeals court judges are in a unique position in that they are presented with real opportunities to influence the shape and meaning of law. Jurists have special interests, some areas of the law that particularly attract them. When questions arise in these fields, jurists are likely to seize the moment, allowing them to express their expertise and be creative. This is not only a natural course for highly motivated individuals, but also a mode of operation that is important to the development of our law. Through an examination of the actions and writings of such diverse jurists as Louis Brandeis, Sandra Day O'Connor, Jerome Frank, and Hans Linde, the authors explore this concept of entrepreneurship, in which judges take on and promote their pet projects. Of great interest to scholars and researchers in political science and law, and those concerned with judicial process and behavior, and court policymaking.
Social Enterprise by M. J. Lane
Call Number: Law Stacks HD60 .L36
ISBN: 9781604427394
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
Today's economy has forced many charities to cut back on their service. Charitable giving is also down, and federal and state governments are pulling back on their support of the social sector. This trend has drastically changed the business model for many nonprofit organizations, requiring them to become innovative and entrepreneurial in order to survive. For many, this means engaging in "social enterprise," and defining their success in terms of both financial and social returns. In addition, many for-profit businesses are also finding they can generate significant revenue while addressing social needs. In addition, benefits organization-wide like financial incentives, tax benefits and more, can be realized through social enterprise activities. This important and timely book describes the special legal considerations lawyers must know when advising for-profit or not-for-profit entities that engage in "socially conscious" or progressive activities. From funding organizational structure, business models, governance, and tax treatments, this book is the complete legal guide to social enterprise. The future demands an entrepreneurial approach to business if organizations wish to survive. Social enterprise is the heart of much of that activity. If your client is involved in, or simply considering starting a social enterprise, this book is the essential guide to successfully navigating the state and federal rules involved.