Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Legislation & Policy
Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Search through Committee Hearings, Committee Reports, Legislation, and Members of Congress. Bills are searchable from 1973-present, the Congressional Record from 1995-present, and Members from 1929-present. Data are usually updated the morning after a session adjourns.
Policy Briefs & White Papers
Congressional Research Service Reports
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is the public policy research arm of Congress. This legislative branch agency works exclusively for Members of Congress, their committees and their staffs. While CRS does not provide direct public access to its reports, this website (from the University of North Texas) aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990.
Annenberg Public Policy Center
Policy briefs and research on the role of communication in politics, adolescent behavior, child development, health care, civics and mental health, and other areas.
Provides research in a variety of areas such as arts, civil justice, education, national security, public safety, and other areas.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and links directly to current research on public policy issues, with international coverage from many organizations around the world, as well as in-depth coverage of U.S. domestic policy organizations. It forms part of the Politics Collection.
Dates covered: 1990-present.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A weekly publication that covers current and controversial issues with complete summaries, timelines and bibliographies.
Dates Covered: 11/1/1991-present.
Political Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to more than 450 leading political science and international relations journals, political science dissertaions from U.S. and Canadian universities, and other countries such as country reports and policy papers. It forms part of the Politics Collection.
Dates covered: 1985-present.
Politics Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Covers international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. It forms part of the Social Science Premium Collection.
Dates covered: 1914-present.