Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Background Resources (Multi-Disciplinary/General)
The following resources provide a wealth of useful definitions, explanations and overviews on your topic and related subject areas, and offer a convenient and efficient way to explore your public health topic within different disciplinary contexts and perspectives (e.g. sociological, socio-economic, psychological, ethical, philosophical):
Use Credo for quick access to definitions, explanations, descriptions & illustrations in a broad range of medical, nursing & health-related encyclopedias and dictionaries from across multiple publishers.
Find high quality background information, definitions, & explanations of concepts from sources published by Gale and covering a broad range of public health-related topics.
Get background information and definitions on your public health-related topic from a wide selection of high quality encyclopedias published by SAGE (tip: when prompted, use filters to narrow your results).
Additional Sources of Background Information (Overviews, Explanations, Definitions etc.)
Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
Find useful online encyclopedia entries on important public health concerns, including diseases and conditions, health and wellness promotion, statistics, sanitation, nutrition, environment, ethics and law
For the Public's Health
Three-volume series on measurement, law and funding aspects of public health in the U.S. (for free full text access, click on each of the 3 title links provided).
MedLine Plus (National Library of Medicine)
Search or browse authoritative and up-to-date consumer health information provided by the National Library of Medicine of the National Institutes of Health.
Health Care Systems Around the World: A Comparative Guide
Examines health care systems for over 190 countries in 10 categories: Emergency Services; Costs of Hospitalization; Costs of Drugs; Major Health Issues; Government Role; Insurance; Access; Facilities; Personnel; and Public Health Programs.
Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric Health and Social Care
Examines a broad range of topics related to geriatrics and geriatric care across multiple health care disciplines. 3rd edition (2014).
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior
Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies. 3rd edition (2009).
Handbook of Adolescent Health Psychology
General, developmental, physical, mental, and treatment issues in adolescent behavioral health.
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology Online
Reference tool providing extensive coverage of the field of psychology.
Handbook of Child Well-Being: Theories, Methods and Policies in Global Perspective
Addresses the concept of well-being through an analysis of the perspectives of various disciplines such as philosophy, theology, psychology and sociology; also deals with the methods of measuring well-being.
Weekly coverage of current & controversial issues.
Food & Nutrition Information Center (US Department of Agriculture)
Find credible, accurate, and practical sources of nutrition information (from the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture)
Encyclopedia of AIDS (Springer)
Contains more than 4,000 A-Z entries including medical, cultural, social, and pharmacological essays.
Routledge Handbook of Medical Anthropology
Find background information and summaries of research on many aspects of global and public health, including infectious and non-communicable diseases, biomedicine, complementary and alternative modalities, structural violence and vulnerability, gender and ageing, reproduction and sexuality.
Handbook of Mental Health in African American Youth
Find essays and overviews on mental health-related topics, including the epidemiology of mental disorders in African American youth, & community approaches to promoting positive mental health and psychosocial well-being.
Nutrition.gov (U.S. Dept. of Agriculture)
Access to food and nutrition information from various U.S. government agencies, including the Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) & the National Agricultural Library (NAL), and panels of food and nutrition expert advisors from the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).
Get your research off to a good start!
Use the extremely helpful encyclopedias & other reference sources linked from this page - they're great starting points for your research!
Still can't decide on a topic, & looking for inspiration? Try searching some of the great news sources listed on the ''Choosing Your Topic" tab in this research guide.
Disease Information Sources
Bacillus anthracis (National Library of Medicine)
In addition to the information sources listed below, take a look at DePaul's collection of books on human communicable diseases by clicking HERE