Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evaluating Journals & Publishers
Here are some sources of useful information, data & guidance for identifying the most appropriate journal for publishing your work. In addition to using these sources, remember also to use article databases (e.g. CINAHL, ProQuest Nursing, PsycInfo, PubMed) to identify those journals that have recently published works relevant to your research interest. To review content in one specific journal, use the library's "Journal Finder" search tool.
Cabells Scholarly Analytics This link opens in a new window
Helps researchers identify and evaluate academic journals. Includes The Whitelist with complete contact and publication information, quality metrics, submission experience data, and peer review indicators for over 11,000 verified journals across 18 academic disciplines. Also includes The Blacklist, a searchable database of deceptive and predatory academic journals.
Think, Check, Submit
Use this simple checklist to help identify publishers you can trust when submitting your works.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. and all data is freely available.
Eigenfactor & Article Influence Scores
Open access and freely-available source of journal ranking information in the form of Eigenfactor® scores and Article Influence® scores.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides ISI's journal impact factor metrics based on citation data. Helps determine a publication's impact and influence in the global research community. The previous version of interface is also still available here
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
Use this free/open-access portal to find journal ranking information based on information contained in Elsevier's Scopus® database (NB: the actual Scopus database is not available through DePaul).
Research Integrity & Misconduct
Here are a few suggested resources and tools you could use for identifying, avoiding and understanding instances of research misconduct and other sources of error, including fraud, plagiarism, data fabrication or data manipulation:
Useful Information & Guidance on Writing & Publishing