Guides: Marketing Research Guide: Market Research

We subscribe to the following:

MarketResearch.com This link opens in a new window
Access research reports that address consumer behavior and industry/market trends in retailing, food and beverages, personal care, manufacturing, services, hospitality, healthcare and technology. Geographic coverage is predominantly the United States but there is also significant global and individual foreign country analysis best discovered by selecting the advanced search option.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Market research database providing statistics and analysis on companies, industries, economies, and consumers worldwide.
Access note: Some users might encounter a single sign-on (SSO) prompt in error and subsequent link to “Contact your institution." We recommend first trying a different browser or clearing cookies to see if doing so resolves the issue.
Access note: Not available to walk-in users.

Market Share Reporter
Presents comparative business statistics. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources.

MRI-Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
Research Essentials is a module within the Insights platform designed specifically for consumer research, insights, ad research and media research teams and providing access to annual national consumer survey data. Access note: Limited to 10 concurrent users. Not available to walk-in users.
SMA: Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable news and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources on all aspects of sporting goods, sports equipment, participation, demographics, fan profiles, sports finance, sponsorship, broadcasting, media, and marketing.
Market Research & American Business, 1935-1965 This link opens in a new window
Contains the market research reports of Ernest Dichter, a consumer analyst and market research pioneer. The reports and ads cover a wide range of consumer industries, including clothing and accessories, food and drink, and sport and leisure.
J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America This link opens in a new window
An archive of the history, operation, and policies of the J. Walter Thompson advertising firm. Includes: print advertisements, publications, business records, and other internal company documents pertaining to a wide range of brands, companies, and industries.
Coverage dates run from the late 19th century to the 1990s.

Ratings

DePaul University Libraries does not subscribe directly to Nielsen. However, there are several sources that report Nielsen data:

Broadcasting and Cable
Available via Communication and Mass Media Complete, this weekly trade magazine contains Nielsen data.
Nielsen's Top Ten Lists
Some free data are available for the following categories: streaming, TV, advertisers, and video games.
Television Advertising Bureau
The Research Central portion of this site contains weekly television program ratings and national ratings reports by specific demographics. Most data are for the current year; some data goes back to 2003. Some information is members-only.

Does DePaul offer access to reports from Mintel, Forrester, IBIS, etc.?

We do not subscribe to these services mentioned either because they are cost-prohibitive or not sold to the academic market, e.g., Forrester. Consider using the sources listed to the left--MarketResearch.com and Passport, in particular. Market research is often summarized in the business press; be sure to conduct some article database searches as part of your efforts.