Guides: Evidence-Based Nursing Research Guide: Articles

Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL's Advanced Search 'Evidence-Based Practice' option limits results to the following results types:
-----Articles from evidence-based practice journals
-----Articles about evidence-based practice
-----Research articles (including systematic reviews, clinical trials, meta analyses, etc.)
-----Commentaries on research studies (applying practice to research)
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Find articles and other document types covering an extremely broad range of biomedical/clinical research. Use PubMed's "MeSH" (Medical Subject Heading) Database to explore and identify the vocabulary used by the database to express the concepts you're interested in. Use PubMed's "Clinical Queries" tool to identify different types of Evidence-Based information.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Find high quality, independent evidence-based health care information (protocols, methods, trials, evaluations and assessments) from six different Cochrane Library databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed systematic reviews produced by the Review Group of The Cochrane Collaboration.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and other publication types across a broad range of psych-related disciplines, including psychiatry, education, business, computers, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus is the main database for finding Physical Activity & Exercise related literature. It contains more than 670 full-text journals, Books, Book chapters, Conference proceedings, Journal articles and more.

TRIP Search Engine
Use the TRIP ('Turning Research Into Practice') database to search simultaneously across numerous national and international sources of systematic reviews, evidence-based guidelines and other evidence-based information.
SUMSearch2 (University of Kansas)
Simultaneously search across numerous updated sources of systematic reviews, original studies and practice guidelines, including PubMed, Dare, National Guideline Clearinghouse, Cochrane Systematic Reviews.

Additional Sources of Evidence-Based Health Care Information

National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration)
Find mental health and substance abuse interventions that have been reviewed and rated by independent reviewers (the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration is a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services).
National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Dissemination Centre (National Health Service, UK)
Find evidence-based information discoverable through the UK National Health Services's "NIHR Discover Portal" (supersedes the portal previously used to access "DARE" evidence-based database records)
ClinicalTrials.gov
Searchable database containing thousands of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (U.K.)
Find or search across clinical evidence in the U.K. National Health Service.

EvidenceAlerts This link opens in a new window
Searchable database providing access access to current best evidence from research and supporting evidence-based clinical decisions. Formerly known as Evidence Updates from BMJ.
Access note: Freely available to the public. Registration is required.

CMA Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines (Canadian Medical Association)
Find and search across over 1,200 guidelines produced or endorsed in Canada by a national, provincial or territorial medical or health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel.
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force
An independent panel of non-Federal experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine and is composed of primary care providers. Conducts scientific evidence reviews of a broad range of clinical preventive health care services and develops recommendations for primary care clinicians and health systems in the form of "Recommendation Statements."
Other Sites About Clinical Studies (ClinicalTrials.gov)
Updated list of National Institutes of Health (NIH) and Food and Drug Administration (FDA) websites that provide information about clinical studies, drug development, and other health care issues.

Evidence-Based Nursing Research Guide: Articles

Databases

Additional Sources of Evidence-Based Health Care Information

Further Reading