Useful Background Sources: Health/Medicine
- Credo Reference: MedicineFind useful background information, definitions, research terminology, anatomical descriptions and images from over 40 different medical and nursing encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- Taber's Cyclopedic Medical DictionaryFind useful definitions, explanations and illustrations in this encyclopedic medical dictionary.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowCross-searchable collection of more than 100 encyclopedias and handbooks from SAGE.
Extent: Multidisciplinary - EBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new windowCross-searchable collection of over two thousand reference titles from Gale. Previously known as Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Extent: Multidisciplinary
- NCBI BookshelfFind online books & reports on specific health care & biomedical topics. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)Fact sheets, journal articles and statistics related to public health and safety.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative HealthFind consumer and practitioner-oriented information on many aspects of CAM, including current issues, clinical trials, funding, training, and research--including a CAM-focused search of PubMed.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by ISBN: 0826133045Publication Date: 2017-07-01This award-winning nursing reference, meticulously researched by luminaries in the field, represents the state of the art in nursing science. Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today.
Useful Background Sources: Mental Health/Psych
- Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology OnlineReference tool providing extensive coverage of the field of psychology.
- Encyclopedia of StressCovers many aspects and ramifications of stress, including the biological mechanisms involved in the stress response, the effects of activating the stress response mechanisms, and the disorders that may arise as the result of acute or chronic stress.
- Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive BehaviorExplores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies. 3rd edition (2009).
Useful Background Sources: Drugs
- Drugs.comFind and browse across an extensive array of drug-related information resources.
Access note: Freely available to the public. - Drugs@FDABasic information about FDA approved drug products, including prescription and over-the-counter drugs. Browse by name, search by name or active ingredient, or perform other advanced search functions.
Access note: Freely available to the public. - Merck Manuals - Professional VersionBackground information sources across a wide range of drugs, diseases, conditions, and other health and medicine topics.
- Epocrates OnlineFree online drug information service (use requires free account setup/login).
Access Note: freely available to the public.