Legal Databases (Lexis, Westlaw, Bloomberg Law) contain Company Information as well.
Access Lexis, Westlaw & Bloomberg Law via our "Major Legal Databases" List
WESTLAW'S Parent Company is THOMSON REUTERS (logo below)
Find Hoover's Company Info
Lexis Plus has Numerous Company Information Databases available on the law school plan, including Hoover's (mentioned & pictured above), D&B Private Company Insight; Guidestar; Edgar Online.
All Of These Can Be Searched At Once
- From Main Lexis Plus Screen
[Add'l Databases are accessible from the Public Records area, including Corporate Filings, Corporate Affiliations and Locate a Business Nationwide - However, the "Public Records" databases is not part of the Law School's Plan/Subscription.]
This landing page is a home base of sorts for all sorts of information regarding business transactions, commercial law, securities filings, and news about these topics. One can also navigate to certain recent in-focus topics in business law, such as recent SEC rulemaking or the FCPA [Foreign Corrupt Practices Act]. In addition, one can use and create several types of tools to find out information on companies and transactions, outlined below:
Bloomberg Law contains information on many private companies, as well as public companies. However, this coverage is not always complete as some securities and corporate laws, depending on the type of entity in question, require disclosure of only some company information.
Please follow the links below to images showing you the home page of the Bloomberg Law Business tab as well as the Business Intelligence Center and the Company Screener Page of Bloomberg Law.
The "Business Law Center" (Sign in to Westlaw> under Content Tab> Under Specialty Areas) contains a list of business information sources, as well as a SEC Edgar database. (The Company Investigator contains the subscription version of Hoover's Company Profiles. Note, however, that our law school plan/subscription does not allow access to the Company Investigator database.)
More information is available by searching public records, which can be accessed via the Tool tab. Results include: Contact information; Bankruptcy filings; Lawsuits; Secretary of State filings (except Delaware); UCC filings and Executive Profiles.
