Land Rights
Land Rights refer to right to use and exclude others from the use of land. Related issues involved in indigenous land rights include environmental protection, human rights and the ability to survive physically, culturally, and economically. In this exhibition it is also applied to environmental and health impacts caused by strip-mining in Appalachia.
Definitions of Land Rights and Manifest Destiny
Danver, S. L. (2013). Land rights, American Indian. In Encyclopedia of politics of the American West (Vol. 1, pp. 441-441). CQ Press, https://dx.
Indian Law Resource Center. Land Rights. https://indianlaw.org/issue/Land-Rights.
Smithsonian American Art Museum. Manifest Destiny and Indian Removal. https://americanexperience.si.edu/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/Manifest-Destiny-and-Indian-Removal.pdf
American Indian Movement and Efforts to Impeach Oglala Lakota President Richard Wilson
Wikipedia. Wounded Knee Occupation. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wounded_Knee_Occupation.
Smith, Paul Chaat, and Robert Allen. Warrior. Like a Hurricane: The Indian Movement from Alcatraz to Wounded Knee. New York, New York: New Press, 1996.Call Number: 979.461 S656L1996 John T. Richardson Library (print)ISBN: 9781565843165
Banks, Dennis, and Richard Erdoes. Ojibwa Warrior: Dennis Banks and the Rise of the American Indian Movement. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 2004.Call Number: 977.00497333 B218o2004, John T. Richardson Library (print)ISBN: 9780806135809
Where White Men Fear to Tread: The Autobiography of Russell MeansCall Number: 305.897073 M483w1995, John T. Richardson Library (print)ISBN: 9780312147617
Bancroft, Dick, and Laura Waterman. Wittstock. We Are Still Here : a Photographic History of the American Indian Movement. St. Paul, MN: Minnesota Historical Society Press, 2013. Print.Call Number: 323.1196073 B2135W2013, John T. Richardson LibraryISBN: 9780873518871
Strip Mining in Appalachia
"Environmental Justice and Coal Mining in Appalachia." Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Environmental_justice_and_coal_mining_in_Appalachia
Witt, Joseph D. Religion and Resistance in Appalachia: Faith and the Fight Against Mountaintop Removal Coal Mining. Lexington, Kentucky: University Press of Kentucky, 2016. Print.Call Number: 261.88 W827R, John T. Richardson LibraryISBN: 9780813168128
Grasso, Maria, and Marco Giugni. The Routledge Handbook of Environmental Movements. Milton: Taylor and Francis, 2022.Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780367428785
Visit our Related Research Guides
The Library research guides provide additional resources including background sources and article databases among others.
Search for books in the library on land rights
Article Databases
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new windowPrint journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada from 1828 to 2016. Includes national, local, and student publications.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for America: History and Life
Indexes journals, books and dissertations on North American history, covering the United States and Canada. (For other countries or regions, use the database Historical Abstracts.) "Dates covered" refers to publication dates included; all historic eras are addressed, from B.C. to present day.
Dates Covered: 1964-present - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Academic Search Complete
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present.
Extent: Multidisciplinary
