Books & Articles on Documentary Photography & Activism
Photography in AmericaCall Number: 770.973 O79p 2016ISBN: 9780199314225Chapters: Seeing and Believing: Photography as Documentary, Photography and Society, African Americans and Photography
Light, Ken. Witness in Our Time : Working Lives of Documentary Photographers. Washington, D.C: Smithsonian Institution Press, 2000. Print.Call Number: 070.490922 W825L2000, John T. Richardson LibraryISBN: 9781560989233
Databases to Explore
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections on JSTOR which includes the full text of more than 2,600 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities. Includes access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections including JSTOR Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from art journals and museum bulletins. Coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994; full-text coverage for selected periodicals begins in 1997. Dates Covered: 1984-Present.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present. - America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books and dissertations on North American history, covering the United States and Canada. (For other countries or regions, use the database Historical Abstracts.) "Dates covered" refers to publication dates included; all historic eras are addressed, from B.C. to present day.
Dates Covered: 1964-present - Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Contains local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources including newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, newswires, and news videos.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowIndexes US ethnic and minority publications; with full text.
Dates Covered: 1960-present. - New York Times Historical Content This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the complete paper version of the newspaper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format going back to 1851.
Dates Covered: 1851-2017.
- Chicago Defender - Historical Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides full page and article images with searchable full text of this historically important African American newspaper from 2010 back to the first issue.
Dates Covered: 1910-2010.
