About the Poem, Let America Be America Again by Langston Hughes
In 1935, Langston Hughes wrote Let America be America Again.The first 50 lines of the poem were published the next year in Esquire, ending with the line "Who said the free?". In 1938, the International Workers Order (IWO) published 10,000 copies of the entire poem in a collection of Hughes' poetry titled A New Song. It was not known to be printed in full again until 1994.
"Langston Hughes." https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/langston-hughes.
Related Library Research Guides
Search for books by and about Langston Hughes in the Library
Books in the Library
Article Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for MLA International Bibliography
Indexes journal articles, book chapters and more in literature, language development, linguistics and folklore; with abstracts.
Dates Covered: 1926-present. - African American Poetry This link opens in a new windowPoems by African Americans. Search by keyword, poem title, author, genre, or time period.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers published by or for African Americans between 1827-1998. This collection features papers from more than 35 states, and was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States: Those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.