Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University Library DePaul Library

3rd Floor

1. Special Collections and Archives

  • In Special Collections and Archives (SPCA) you can find primary sources like rare books, maps, and archives, which are collections of documents and materials that are created by and relate to a person or organization. Our collections focus on social justice, the history of DePaul, St. Vincent de Paul and Vincentian heritage, the history of Lincoln Park, and women's and community advocacy organizations. 
  • You can’t borrow SPCA items like other materials in the library, but they are open Monday through Friday, 9-5 for visits and are happy to answer questions over email, phone, or in person.

DePaul students visit the Special Collections and Archives Reading Room.

2. O'Neil Reading Room

  • The 3rd floor is designated as a quiet floor allowing you to study in peace. The O’Neil reading room is full of tables and comfy chairs just for that purpose! 

The O'Neil Reading Room on the 3rd Floor of the John T. Richardson Library is an ideal place for quiet study.

3. 3rd Floor Stacks

  • The Richardson Library houses research materials in the arts, science, humanities, and social sciences.
  • We call the shelves of books in the library "the stacks." You can check out and borrow the books in the stacks.
  • Books are organized by Dewey Decimal call numbers which are alphanumeric codes that relate to the subject of the book. Each book has its own call number, like an ID number. On this floor you will find books with call numbers beginning with 0 - 699. 
  • Search LibrarySearch to find the call numbers of books.

A student looks up the call number of a book to find it in the stacks. 

4. Group Study Rooms

  • If you need space to work with your classmates on a group project, there are a number of group study rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors. You can make a reservation online to use these rooms. Just a heads up, group study rooms are meant for groups of three or more. 

Zoom

A sign marking carrels for Zoom classes

A sign marking carrels for Zoom classes.

5. Zoom Zone

  • Pzzt! Need a spot to attend a Zoom class? These carrels are designated Zoom-friendly and some talking is permitted here.

Art Notes

Near the stairs is a display of the Vincentian heritage of DePaul University, which includes a diorama of the Clos Saint-Lazare in Paris, artifacts related to St. Vincent de Paul, and maps of Paris at the time of St. Vincent. You can learn more about Vincentian heritage and the importance of Clos Saint-Lazare in the digital Vincentian Collections.

"The Clos-Saint-Lazare, Paris, and its Neighborhood in the Time of St Vincent de Paul and his First Successors, ca. 1630-1792". Scale model by Jeffrey Wrona. Color Photograph. Vincentiana Collection, Special Collection and Archives, DePaul University.