Tour the John T. Richardson Library: 1st Floor

• This is where you can come to check out books and other materials! Your DePaul ID is also your Library card, which you can use to check out materials. Use your BlueKey credentials to log into your account online.
• You can find books and other materials to check out by searching LibrarySearch, the big search box on the library website. Sign in with your BlueKey credentials to access e-books and request materials. To learn more, watch the video, Getting Started with LibrarySearch. If we do not have the book you are looking for, you can request it from I-Share or Interlibrary Loan for free. I-Share is a network of 90+ Illinois libraries. Books generally arrive in 3-5 business days and can be returned to the DePaul University Library. 
• You don’t have to travel between the Loop and Lincoln Park to pick up a book!  You can place a request online through LibrarySearch and we’ll bring the book to the DePaul Library location of your choice. 
• Undergrads can borrow books from the Depaul University Library and I-Share libraries for 4 weeks and renew them 3 times.
• Your professor may have reserved required texts (print or online) specifically for your course. Access course reserves using your BlueKey credentials. Bring the call number and your DePaul ID to the Access Services desk to check out print reserves for 2 days. 
• You can also check out loanable technology, such as chargers, calculators, robots, cameras, and video game consoles from the Access Services desk. 

• Next to Access Services is the Research Help desk. Our friendly librarians and peer research tutors provide research help in person and via chat, email, phone, and text daily. They also offer research consultation appointments to discuss research strategies and resources one-on-one.
• Contact us if you can’t decide on a topic; are looking for books and articles; or have any questions about using the library. No question is too small. We’re always happy to help you! 
• Don’t have time to ask a librarian? Use our research guides, collections of resources created by DePaul librarians, to get started. Watch this video on Finding Subject Specific Resources to help you get oriented.

• Video games - Need a study break? Browse the video games available to check out at the Library. We have over 500 games in our collection for a variety of consoles, ranging from the Nintendo 3DS to the PS5. 
• No console? No problem! We have video game consoles available to check out at the Access Services desk. 

• Study or relax with your friends and classmates in the comfy chairs throughout the floor. 
• Work with your group at the group tables on 1st & 2nd floors. You can reserve them online for 2 hours.
• Feel free to talk out loud on the 1st and 2nd floors. Floors get quieter as you go up.

• The Library is the largest computer lab on campus! Find Windows and Mac desktops on the first floor of the John T. Richardson Library, equipped with specialized software like Adobe Creative Cloud and ArcGIS. 

• Need some privacy? The Solo Booths can be reserved online for private phone conversations, video conferencing, or quiet contemplation.

• Librarians teach students the research skills they need to succeed at DePaul and beyond. If you come to the library for a research instruction class, you will meet in either room 109 or 110.
• You can swipe into room 110 to use the space anytime there is not a research instruction class in session. 

• Supplemental Instruction (SI) aims to help students successfully complete historically difficult classes through peer-assisted study sessions. SI is open to all students in a targeted SI course. Check the schedule to see which SI sessions are happening soon.

Around the floor, you will find many collections of materials:

• Chicago Collection - Need a source for your Discover Chicago course?  The Chicago Collection contains books on all aspects of Chicago, including history, politics, art and architecture, sociology, and a wide range of other topics. For more information see the Chicago Research Guide.
• Graphic Novels - Superheroes, Manga, or memoir? Find them all in the graphic novel collection, a variety of popular and best-selling graphic novels across many genres.
• Faculty publications - Looking for your instructor's latest book? You can find it in the Faculty Publications collection, which contains books recently published by DePaul Faculty.

• The Library has black & white and color printers in addition to photocopiers and scanners. 
• You will receive $24 of printing funds each quarter and have the option of adding more funds to your Demon Express account via Campus Connect. 
• Free poster printing is available by request for academic purposes. 
• Additional printers are located on the 2nd floor. 

• In this area you can find the restrooms and our Unwind the Mind Popular Reading collection, which includes a selection of novels, non-fiction, and cookbooks. You'll find more of this collection at the Loop Library.

The artwork along the walls was created by the permanent faculty of the Department of Art, Media, and Design and changes periodically. You can learn more about the artwork, past and present, in the online Art Faculty Exhibit in the John T. Richardson Library.