Tour the John T. Richardson Library: 2nd Floor

• In the middle of the floor you’ll find an open computer lab with Windows computers equipped with specialized software and double-monitors and group work tables.
• If you brought your own laptop, connect to the WiFi with your BlueKey credentials wherever you are on campus. 
• Not on campus? You can do your research at home! Just log into the Library’s databases with your BlueKey credentials. 

On this floor, you'll find:

• Reference Collection: Here you'll find specialized reference materials including encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and more. These items are in-library use only and cannot be checked out. Many additional reference resources are available online. 
• Periodicals: Here you'll find print journals and newspapers. We've got the latest issues of the Chicago Tribune, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and other important titles. Periodicals are in-library use only and cannot be checked out. There are thousands of journals and newspapers available online through the Library with your BlueKey credentials. 
• Microforms: Here you'll find reproductions of historical newspapers, rare books, and manuscript collections on microfilm and microfiche.
• Media: Here you'll find DVDs, CDs, and records to check out for your study breaks. We've also got a huge selection of streaming audio and  video resources, including feature films, documentaries, and more.
• Curriculum Materials Collection: Here you'll find K-12 textbooks, children's and young adult literature, and activity books for use in building lesson plans and curriculum units.

• Browse our vinyl collection and find your new favorite song! We're collecting new LPs in all genres. No turntable? Check out a portable record player at the Access Services desk on the first floor of the John T. Richardson Library. 

• Need some privacy? The Solo Booths can be reserved online for private phone conversations, video conferencing, or quiet contemplation.

• Additional printers, copiers, and scanners are available on this floor.
• Free poster printing is available by request for academic purposes. 
• Here, you'll also find microform readers which provide a way to access microforms with reproductions of rare books, newspaper archives, and other materials that may not be available through our online databases. You can check out lenses for the microfilm readers and get help with them at the Access Services Desk.

• This space is open to all for quiet meditation or prayer. Prayer rugs and privacy screens are available for you to use. 

• A single-occupancy, gender-neutral restroom is available on this floor. 

In the center of the floor is a scale model of the church of Saint-Jacques and Saint Jean-Baptiste in Folleville, France. In this church on January 25, 1617, St. Vincent de Paul asked the Vincentian question, “What must be done?” You can learn more about St. Vincent de Paul and the Vincentian tradition in the digital Vincentian Collections.