Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click through to our Newspapers and News Stories Guide to find a comprehensive list of all of our newspapers.
New York Times Historical Content
Provides access to the complete paper version of the newspaper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format going back to 1851.
Dates Covered: 1851-2017.
Chicago Tribune Historical Content
Provides access to the complete paper version of the newspaper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. More recent years of the Chicago Tribune are available through the Chicago Tribune Current Content collection as well as US Newsstream (ProQuest).
Dates Covered: 1849-2010.
Times Digital Archive (Gale Primary Sources)
Provides electronic access to full-page images of every issue of The Times (London) from 1785 to 2014.
Dates Covered: 1785-2014.
International News Databases
This collection includes more than 70 newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 in Sub-Saharan Africa offer an unrivaled viewpoint into a time of drastic change. A wide range of colonial era viewpoints is chronicled in titles from Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Mozambique, Nigeria, South Africa, Zimbabwe and other locales.
Apartheid: Global Perspectives, 1946-1996
This digital collection contains nearly 60,000 translated news broadcasts and publications, written by both the people who experienced apartheid and those around the world who watched, reacted to and analyzed it.
Global Press Archive
Access to three different collections: Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers (839 titles); Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (292 titles); Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (79 titles). Covers 1807-present, with most coverage during the middle of the 20th century.
Irish Newspaper Archive
A digital archive project dedicated to the complete digitization of Ireland's newspaper heritage. This archive includes the Irish Independent (1905 - current), Sunday Independent, The Freeman's Journal, the Nation and many of Ireland's leading regional newspapers.
Latin American Newspapers
More than 280 fully searchable newspapers published between 1805-1922 from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere.
Middle East and North Africa (1958-1994)
This online archive offers firsthand reporting and deep analysis on important issues and historic events from Morocco to Egypt to Afghanistan. It allows researchers unprecedented opportunities to delve into the cultural, economic and political forces that are integral to an array of interdisciplinary topics.
South Asian Newspapers
This collection includes colonial-era titles published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka from 1864-1922. Among the key publications: Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura), Madras Mail (Madras), Tribune (Lahore) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka). Languages include English, Bengali, and Gujarati.
World Newspaper Archive
In this collection you can search across our historical Latin American Newspapers, African Newspapers and South Asian newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive at the same time.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
This resource provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers published by or for African Americans between 1827-1998. This collection features papers from more than 35 states, and was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States: Those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.
African American Newspapers
Provides indexing and full-text coverage of 13 newspapers from the 1800s and early 1900s. Includes information on black history and culture, including first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day.
Chicago Defender - Historical Edition
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text of this historically important African American newspaper from 2010 back to the first issue.
Dates Covered: 1910-2010.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Early American Newspapers (Series II)
This resource includes access to fully searchable content from over 250 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from all 50 present states, with particular focus on the period between 1820 and 1860. Based primarily on the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), this series also includes titles from the Wisconsin Historical Society and more than 90 other institutions.
Indexes US ethnic and minority publications; with full text.
Dates Covered: 1960-present.
Pennsylvania Gazette, The
Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800, The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.
Dates Covered: 1728-1800.
Newspapers are generally considered to be primary sources. If you aren't sure if newspaper articles will count as primary sources for your particular project, check with your instructor.