Magazines and Journals
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5 This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1693 to 1877. The collection includes early works imported by the colonists in several European languages, as well as titles published in America from before the American Revolution through the Civil War. Pages, articles, and illustrations are available as pdfs. - Architectural Digest Archive This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Architectural Digest Archive
Features photography and information on architecture and interior design, art and antiques, travel destinations, and products in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
Dates Covered: 1922-2011 - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowThis collection features ten long-running and highly influential trade and popular magazines which document all aspects of cinema going, the film industry and the evolution of television and popular culture in the US and UK.
Dates Covered: 1880-2000. - Godey's Lady's Book This link opens in a new windowPublished from 1830-1898, Godey?s Lady?s Book was one of the first, and most successful, American women's magazines. It is an important resource for the study of 19th century American life and culture, and contains a wide variety of content including essays, stories, fashion, illustrations and sheet music.
- HarpWeek This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text archives of Harper's Weekly covering the latter half of the nineteenth century and the early twentieth century.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use JSTOR to find academic journal articles written as far back as the 19th century. Sort the results "Oldest to Newest" to find the historical material on top. - Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Life Magazine Archive
Provides electronic access to full page images, with searchable text and indexing of all content (including advertisements). Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions.
Dates Covered: 1936-2000. - National Geographic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the complete archive of National Geographic magazine with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.
Dates Covered: 1888-2020.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Readers' Guide Retrospective
A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.
Dates Covered: 1890-1982.
Extent: Multidisciplinary
