Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing Theory Videos (Streaming & DVD)
Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for education and training of nurses and other healthcare workers (includes a 20-minute segment entitled "Nursing Theory: Application to Nursing Practice")
Nursing & Mental Health in Video This link opens in a new window
Includes over 240 streaming videos focusing on the assessment and management of mental health issues that often present themselves alongside physical conditions.
Cameo, outstanding nurse researchers and their work
Series of 15 nursing videos produced in the 1990s by Sigma Theta Tau International & Samuel Merritt College Studio Three Productions, archived by the Ruth Lilly Special Collections & Archives at Indiana University Library.
The Nurse Theorists Portraits of Excellence (DVD volumes 1, 2 & 3)
Vol. 1: Collection of 16 DVDs (~ 10 hours of content). Sketches of the lives and work of a group of most prominent members of the nursing profession. Each volume is divided into three broad sections: a biographical sketch, an interview conducted by Dr. Jacqueline Fawcett and a concise summary of each theory of nursing.
Volume 2: Collection of 6 DVDs (~ 3 hours of content). Explores the life work and life stories of six middle-range theorists who are widely regarded as nursing's premiere scholars. Each program features an interview with a modern theorist in which she discusses her life, the evolution of her work and its impact on nursing practice and education. Also included are bibliographies of each theorist's writings and a resource list of helpful websites and organizations.
Vol. 3: Collection of 6 DVDs (~ 4 hours of content). Explores the life work and life stories of six women who are widely regarded as nursing's premiere middle-range and general theorists. The videos feature interviews with D. Martha Alligood in which the theorists discuss their life, evolution of their work, and the impact of their work on nursing practice, research and education.