Principal Nursing & Health-Related Databases
Getting Started With a Multidisciplinary Database
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Find articles in journals, magazines & newspapers representing a very wide range of subject areas. A good database to start with for getting exposure to different contexts and treatments of your nursing concept.
If you wish to search across a greater range of material, remember that you can use EBSCO's "Choose Databases" link to incorporate one or more subject-specific databases into your searches.
Nursing & Health-Related Databases
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThe single most comprehensive resource for finding articles, reports and other documents related to nursing.
Use the "CINAHL HEADINGS" controlled vocabulary to identify any subject headings the database uses to express the concepts you're interested in. Incorporate those terms into your searches to help you discover the materials that will be of most value and relevance. Here are some of the Subject Headings relating to nursing theory:
-- Nursing Theory
-- Nursing Models, Theoretical
-- Theory-Practice Relationship
-- Professional Practice, Theory-Based
-- Nursing Practice, Theory-Based
-- Theory Construction
-- Theory Validation - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowFind journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and other publication types across a broad range of psych-related disciplines, including psychiatry, education, business, computers, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowFind articles and other document types covering an extremely broad range of biomedical/clinical research.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowUse this database to find additional articles that are not discoverable in other health-related databases (CINAHL, PubMed, PsycInfo).
Databases Representing Other Disciplines & Applied Areas of Study
This is just a selection of subject-specific databases availalble at DePaul. You will find a more comprehensive range of choices via "A-Z Databases" and within "Subject Research Guides"
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new windowFind articles and essays relating to religion and theology.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFind journal and trade magazine articles relating to business organization, management, human resources, economics, and other aspects that may relate to your nursing concept or its attributes.
- ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new windowUse ERIC to find journal articles, reports and other documents relating to a wide range of education & training topics that relate to nursing, health care, medicine, and caring professions in general.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowFind articles and other document types relating to gender and sexuality.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowFind journal articles and book chapters covering literature-related subject areas, including language, linguistics and folklore.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowFind articles, essays and books relating to philosophy.
- Sociology Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowUse this collection of three ProQuest databases (Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, and the Sociology Database) to find articles addressing your nursing or health-related concept in relation to social groups (e.g. socioeconomic, demographic, cultural, religious, ethnic, racial, gender).
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFind articles across a broad range of science, health sciences and social sciences subject areas.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowFind science and social science research articles published across a large collection of high impact research journals.
Help Finding Nursing Articles
- PubMed TutorialsLearn how to more effectively conduct evidence-based practice research in PubMed through these quick, clear and well-structured video tutorials.
Where's the Full Text?
No Full Text in Database? ...
1. Click 
2. When displayed, click "ARTICLE"
3. Otherwise, click on "JOURNAL"
4. If neither option shows, click Request via InterLibrary Loan
Also use InterLIbrary Loan to get an electronic copy of any article we do not have online
Got Citation but Need Full Text?
Trying to find full text when you've got an article citation (or partial citation)? Start by first determining what access we have for that journal, then 'search within' that journal.
Google Scholar Search Box
Have Google Scholar detect when DePaul has article access!
1.Go to scholar.google.com
2. Click on 
(top right)
3. Select Scholar Settings
4. Select Library Links
5. Search for DePaul
6. Select check box for:
7. Save