Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Background Sources for NSG 400
In NSG 400, you may be asked to discover and explore variations in definitions and the scope of meaning for a particular nursing concept across a variety of contexts and perspectives--for instance within different patient groups or practice settings, or from a philosophical, cultural, professional, geographic or language-related perspective.
The background sources linked below are very well-suited for these purposes. They also provide you with useful keywords (including any technical or discipline-specific terminology) that you can incorporate into your database searches for articles.
Try These Multidisciplinary Background Sources
Each of the three background sources: Credo, Gale and Sage, are cross-searchable multi-disciplinary collections of encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works. They make it easy to find, save and cite any useful definitions, explanations and overviews relating to your nursing concept (search using single words or very short phrases to find useful overviews, definitions and explanations).
Subject-Specific Background Sources
Find explanations and overviews on biomedical and clinically-related topics using these subject-specific background information resources:
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Find physician-authored evidence-based information intended to support clinical decision-making at the point-of-care. UpToDate’s decision-support information is integrated with evidence-based drug and drug interaction information from Lexicomp. Use the library link above to register and set up your DePaul UpToDate account. Once your account is created, you will be able to use the mobile app.
Access note: Available only to currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff; not available to the public.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Find useful definitions, explanations and illustrations in this encyclopedic medical dictionary.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Fact sheets, journal articles and statistics related to public health and safety.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
Find consumer and practitioner-oriented information on many aspects of CAM, including current issues, clinical trials, funding, training, and research--including a CAM-focused search of PubMed.
Access to food and nutrition information from various U.S. government agencies, including the Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) & the National Agricultural Library (NAL), and panels of food and nutrition expert advisors from the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).
Find online books & reports on specific health care & biomedical topics. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology Online This link opens in a new window
Reference tool providing extensive coverage of the field of psychology.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Information about all English-language standardized tests covering educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement and intelligence. Includes bibliography to current commercially available tests with information on test purpose, publisher, acronym, publication date, price and author.
Access note: Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders: DSM-5 This link opens in a new window
Guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders, including descriptions, symptoms, and other diagnosis criteria.
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior This link opens in a new window
Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies. 3rd edition (2009).
Encyclopedia of Stress This link opens in a new window
Covers many aspects and ramifications of stress, including the biological mechanisms involved in the stress response, the effects of activating the stress response mechanisms, and the disorders that may arise as the result of acute or chronic stress.
Handbook of Adolescent Health Psychology This link opens in a new window
General, developmental, physical, mental, and treatment issues in adolescent behavioral health.
Background Sources include Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, Guides & Other Reference Works