American Studies Research Guide: Primary Sources: Newspapers

Provides access to the complete paper version of the newspaper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format going back to 1851.
Dates Covered: 1851-2017.

Provides indexing and full-text coverage of newspapers from the 1800s and early 1900s. Includes information on black history and culture, including first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day.

Provides full page and article images with searchable full text of this historically important African American newspaper from 2010 back to the first issue.
Dates Covered: 1910-2010.

Searchable full-text archives of Harper's Weekly covering the latter half of the nineteenth century and the early twentieth century.

Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1815, The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.
Dates Covered: 1728-1815.

Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.
Dates Covered: 1969 - Present

Indexes US ethnic and minority publications; with full text.
Dates Covered: 1960-present.

Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Access note: Freely available to the public.