Article Databases
Use databases to search for articles related to your topic:
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books and dissertations on North American history, covering the United States and Canada. (For other countries or regions, use the database Historical Abstracts.) "Dates covered" refers to publication dates included; all historic eras are addressed, from B.C. to present day.
Dates Covered: 1964-present - GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowIndexes publications on gender and sexuality issues in many academic fields.
Dates Covered: 1970-present. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The full text of more than 500 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities. Searchable and browsable by date. This database has American Quarterly (the journal of the American Studies Association) from 1949 to 2005. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-image journals in the humanities and social sciences, including American Quarterly (the journal of the American Studies Association) from March 1996 to Present.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Includes Social Services Abstracts, and forms part of the Sociology Collection.
Dates Covered: 1952-present.
Extent: Multidisciplinary
Selected Journals
- American Historical ReviewThis journal is the official publication of the American Historical Association. The articles in American Historical Review represent the leading edge in scholarly writing on American and world history. Each issue contains from two to six major articles, numerous book reviews and a section of film reviews.
- American QuarterlyOne of the premier journals in the field; published by the American Studies Association for more than fify years.
- Journal of African American HistoryPeer-reviewed articles on all aspects of African American history.
- Journal of American HistoryThis Journal includes scholarly articles devoted to America's past. In addition to numerous book and film reviews, each issue provides a list of recent dissertations and published bibliographies.
- Journal of American StudiesThe Journal of American Studies publishes work by scholars of any nationality on American literature, history, art, music, film, popular culture, institutions, politics, economics, geography and related subjects. Articles which cross conventional borders between academic disciplines are particularly welcome, as are comparative studies of American and other cultures. It also publishes notes and comments, state-of-the-art essays, review essays, and book reviews.
- Journal of Popular CultureThe Journal of Popular Culture is a peer-reviewed journal and the official publication of the Popular Culture Association.
- Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and SocietyPublishes articles of interdisciplinary interest addressing gender, race, culture, class, nation, and/or sexuality.
Cultural Resources
- HRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowReports and ethnographic field notes (some historical) on all aspects of cultural and social life of specific ethnic groups.
Finding Ethnographies
If you know the name of an individual ethnic group or people, start your search there. If you only know the name of the country, read the entry for that country in one of the encyclopedias in the library. Search the library catalog with the words ETHNOLOGY and a specific cultural group or country. Other useful terms to combine with the group name or the country include:
- ETHNIC GROUPS
- ETHNICITY
- SOCIAL LIFE AND CUSTOMS
- SOCIAL CONDITIONS