American Drama/Plays
- American TheatreCovers a wide variety of contemporary theatrical disciplines from acting and writing to directing, design, managment and trends in American and international theater. Includes complete playscripts from contemporary playrights.
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Supplies streaming video of the world's leading plays, with access to over 350 titles. Users can bookmark scenes and create playlists.
American Fiction
- Early American Fiction 1789 -1875 This link opens in a new window
700+ first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.
North American Poetry
- African American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Poems by African Americans. Search by keyword, poem title, author, genre, or time period.
- American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Poems from the Colonial period to the end of the 19th century.
- Canadian Poetry This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of more than 19,000 poems and offers a comprehensive survey of Canadian poetry from the eighteenth century to the early twentieth century.
- Faber Poetry Library This link opens in a new window
Poems published by Faber and Faber in the 20th century.
- Twentieth-Century African American Poetry This link opens in a new window
A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
- Twentieth-Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Over 50,000 poems by 300+ American poets, including: Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
Online Collections
These collections may contain poetry, fiction, and drama.
- Literature Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowLION offers the full text of more than 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose in English from the eighth century to the present day, drawing together in one fully cross-searchable database the complete contents of fourteen literature collections. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window
Collection of poetry and fiction produced in the Caribbean during the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.
- Project GutenbergThe first large-scale attempt to make full-text books freely available on the Internet. Included are Public Domain editions of everything from Alice in Wonderland to the complete works of Shakespeare.
Access note: Freely available to the public.
Drama
