Guides: Chemistry & Biochemistry Research Guide: Evaluating Journals & Publishers

Evaluating Journals & Publishers

Sources of useful information, data & guidance for identifying the most appropriate journal for publishing your work.

Also--use article databases (e.g. SciFinder, WebOfScience, PubMed) to identify journals that publish in your area of research (examine published content within any specific journal via the 'JOURNALS BY TITLE' tool).

Cabells Scholarly Analytics
Use this resource to help identify and evaluate academic journals. Includes separate listings for "Journalytics" titles and those titles with "Predatory Reports." Provides journal publishing & publisher details for different subject areas, including acceptance rates.

Think, Check, Submit
Use this simple checklist to help identify publishers you can trust when submitting your works.

Ulrich's International Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Directory of journals and magazines published worldwide.
Extent: Multidisciplinary

SCImago Journal & Country Rank
Use this free/open-access portal to find journal ranking information based on information contained in Elsevier's Scopus® database (NB: the actual Scopus database is not available through DePaul).
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
You can use the DOAJ to identify journal publications that meet defined open access and publishing best practice criteria.
Eigenfactor & Article Influence Scores
Open access and freely-available source of journal ranking information in the form of Eigenfactor® scores and Article Influence® scores.

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides ISI's journal impact factor metrics based on citation data. Helps determine a publication's impact and influence in the global research community. The previous version of interface is also still available here.
Effective June 30, 2025, this resource is no longer available to DePaul University. Visit our Cancellations page to learn more. If you have any questions, please contact John Leeker.