Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University Library DePaul Library

Loop Library

1. Circulation Desk

  • This is where you can come to check out books and other materials! Your DePaul ID is also your Library card, which you can use to check out materials. Use your Campus Connect credentials to log into your account online.
  • You can find books and other materials to check out by searching LibrarySearch, the big search box on the library website. Sign in with your Campus Connect credentials to access e-books and request materials. To learn more, watch the video, Getting Started with LibrarySearch. If we do not have the book you are looking for, you can request it from I-Share or Interlibrary Loan for free. I-Share is a network of 90+ Illinois libraries. Books generally arrive in 3-5 business days and can be returned to the DePaul University Library. 
  • You don’t have to travel between the Loop and Lincoln Park to pick up a book!  You can place a request online through LibrarySearch and we’ll bring the book to the DePaul Library location of your choice. 
  • Undergraduate students can borrow books from the DePaul University Library and I-Share libraries for 4 weeks and renew them 3 times.
  • Your professor may have requested materials (print or online) specifically for your course. Access course reserves using your Campus Connect credentials. Bring the call number and your DePaul ID to the Access Services desk to check out print reserves for 2 days. 
  • You can also check out loanable technology, such as chargers, calculators, robots, cameras, and video game consoles from the Circulation Desk. 

Check out books, find course reserves, and more at the Circulation Desk. 

2. DVDs & Video Games

  • Need a study break? Browse the video games available to check out at the Library. We have video game consoles available to check out, too! 
  • In the mood for a movie? We've got DVDs for check out and a huge selection of streaming video resources, including feature films, documentaries, and more. 

3. Recreational Reading

  • Check out our Unwind the Mind Popular Reading Collection for a selection of new novels, popular non-fiction, and cookbooks. You'll find more of this collection on the 1st floor of the John T. Richardson Library.

Unwind the Mind recreational reading collection at the Loop Library. 

4. Computer Labs

  • There are two computer labs located in the Loop Library with a total of 79 PC workstations between them. Scan your DePaul ID at the door to access the lab. 
  • Both computer labs have Black & White printers and scanners available. There is a color printer in the lab in the northwest corner of the Library (room 10012). If you brought your own laptop, connect to the WiFi with your Campus Connect credentials wherever you are on campus. 
  • Not ready to come to campus? You can do your research at home! Just login to the Library’s databases with your Campus Connect credentials. 

5. Loop Periodicals

  • Here you'll find journals, newspapers, and other periodicals. We've got the latest issues of the Wall Street Journal, Crain's Chicago Business, and other important titles. Periodicals are in-library use only and can't be checked out. 
  • There are thousands of journals and newspapers available online through the Library with your Campus Connect credentials. 

6. Research Help Desk

  • Our friendly librarians and peer research tutors provide research help in person and via text, IM or Zoom daily
  • Contact us if you can’t decide on a topic; are looking for books and articles; or have any questions about using the library. No question is too small. We’re always happy to help you! 
  • Don’t have time to ask a librarian? Use our research guides, collections of resources created by DePaul librarians, to get started. Watch this video on Finding Subject Specific Resources to help you get oriented.

Ask a librarian for help at the Research Help Desk! 

7. Print & Copy Center

  • This area houses black & white printers, in addition to photocopiers and scanners
  • You will receive $24 of printing funds each quarter and have the option of adding more funds to your Demon Express account via Campus Connect. 
  • Additional black & white printers are located both computer labs. There is a color printer in the lab in the northwest corner of the Library (room 10012).

8. Group Study Rooms

  • If you need space to work with your classmates on a group project, there are 5 group study rooms located throughout the Loop Library. You can make a reservation online to use these rooms. Just a heads up, group study rooms are meant for groups of three or more. 

9. Collaboration Area

  • Work with your classmates at the group tables in the Collaboration Area. Feel free to talk at a moderate volume or find a quiet independent study area elsewhere on the floor. 

Collaborative study area. Feel free to talk at a moderate volume.

10. Bloomberg Room

  • Four Bloomberg terminals are available at the Loop Library for academic use by current DePaul students and faculty only. A reservation is required, and priority is given to students enrolled in relevant Finance courses.
  • To make a reservation, stop by the Loop Library reference desk or call 312-362-8432. 

11. Loop Stacks

  • The Loop Library houses research materials in business, communications, and computer science. These materials are circulating and can be borrowed
  • We call the shelves of books in the library "the stacks." Books in the stacks are organized by Dewey Decimal call numbers which are alphanumeric codes that relate to the subject of the book. Each book has its own call number, like an ID number.  Search LibrarySearch to find the call numbers of books.

The stacks at the Loop Library. 

12. Reference Collection

  • Here you'll find specialized reference materials including encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and more. These items are in-library use only and don't circulate. Many additional reference resources are available online

13. Instruction Room

  • Librarians teach students the research skills they need to succeed at DePaul and beyond. If you come to the Loop library for a research instruction class, you will meet in room 10028. 

The Loop Library Instruction room. 

14. Quiet Study Area

  • Tables and carrels for quiet study are available throughout the library, especially along the south and west windows. 
  • While you're here, take a look outside: we've got a spectacular view of the Loop and the neighboring Harold Washington Library, part of the Chicago Public Library system. 

View from the southwest corner of the Loop Library.