Article Databases
Search the databases below articles on the artists or issues related to the artwork you've chosen to research.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from art journals and museum bulletins. Coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994; full-text coverage for selected periodicals begins in 1997. Dates Covered: 1984-Present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including art history. - Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, this bibliographic index covers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants since 1992.
Contains nearly 60,000 records from more than 2,400 journals and other resources, including newspapers, books, and book chapters. - Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowProvides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s. Coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowThis multi-cultural and multi-ethnic database contains periodicals scholarly journals, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters and is noted for its coverage of grassroots, community and independent press publications. Dates Covered: 1970-present.
- Alternative Press Index & Archive This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.
Dates Covered: 1969 - Present - Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences and provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. Dates Covered: 1952- present.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books and dissertations on North American history, covering the United States and Canada. (For other countries or regions, use the database Historical Abstracts.) "Dates covered" refers to publication dates included; all historic eras are addressed, from B.C. to present day.
Dates Covered: 1964-present - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books and dissertations on all time periods of world history, excluding the United States and Canada; for those countries use the database America: History & Life. "Dates covered" refers to publication dates included; all historic eras are addressed, from B.C. to present day.
Dates Covered: 1954-present.
Pro Tip
Due to the broad scope of this exhibit, you may want to explore the DePaul University Library research guides. Each guide will provide key databases you can use to find articles on your research topic.