Step 5. Find Articles
To find articles on your topic, use your search strategy in the library's databases.
Start with Academic Search Complete, a multidisciplinary database (which means it covers most topics.) Then move on to some subject databases, which you can find using our Research Guides. You may also browse our comprehensive A-Z List of databases. If you're unsure which databases to search, Ask A Librarian for a suggestion.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present. - Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of journals and trade publications in all business-related disciplines. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, company profiles, SWOT analyses, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, Harvard Business Review, and Harvard Faculty Seminar Videos.
Dates Covered: 1886-present.
*Upgraded from Business Source Complete in July 2024* - Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic and full text access to scholarly research and information relating to many areas of education.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications on gender and sexuality issues in many academic fields.
Dates Covered: 1970-present. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections on JSTOR which includes the full text of more than 2,600 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities. Includes access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections including JSTOR Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. It provides abstracts and citations to peer-reviewed literature, including journal articles, books, book chapters and theses.
Dates Covered: 1887-present. - Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes the Criminology Collection, Education Collection, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Library & Information Science Collection, Linguistics Collection, Politics Collection, Social Science Database, and the Sociology Collection. This resource includes content from across the social sciences with deep coverage of sociology and politics, as well as coverage of criminal justice, education, linguistics, and language behavior.
Getting Started with Academic Search Complete
Where's the Full Text?
If a PDF or Full Text option isn't available...
1. Click on Find Full Text @ DePaul
2. Choose View Online
3. If these options aren't available, choose Get It to request via Interlibrary Loan
*Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain an electronic copy of any article we do not have online.
Search Tips
Phrases
Enclose phrases in " " to find all words together.
"United States"
"body image"
"gun control"
Shorten search terms
Shorten search terms and add a * to retrieve singular, plural, and variant spellings.
advertis*
retrieves advertise, advertisers, advertising, advertisement, advertisements
Use limits
Most databases will allow you to apply limits to your searches and results, such as publication date, source type, scholarly, etc.
Search multiple databases
Try your search in more than one database. Ebsco will let you search multiple databases simultaneously. Look for "choose databases" above the search box. In ProQuest, use the "change databases" link in the banner to select multiple databases to search.
