Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias & Reference Tools...online
...as defined by the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences.
Essays on over 100 people, places and things that influence our culture and color the way America is perceived by the world.
Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture This link opens in a new window
Covers consuming societies around the world, from the Age of Enlightenment to the present, and shows how consumption has become intrinsic to the world?s social, economic, political, and cultural landscapes.
American Decades 1900-1999
Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to particular eras in U.S. history from 1900-1999.
American Decades, 2000-2009 This link opens in a new window
Covers the first decade of the 21st century. Explore the social, economic and political events that influenced consumers who were coming of age then in order to understand them better today.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music This link opens in a new window
Covers popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day. Topics covered include genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals, key dates, biographies, artists, and discographies.
Encyclopedias & Reference Tools...in print