Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to journals in communication, mass media and other closely-related fields of study.
Dates Covered: 1920-present.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 200 journals and magazines, and selected coverage of 300 more; also provides access to books.
Dates Covered: 1971-present.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Popular culture and business are inextricably linked--advertising, film, television, music, fashion all influence if not actually drive the economic engines and consumer behavior.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Includes Social Services Abstracts, and forms part of the Sociology Collection.
Dates Covered: 1952-present.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A music journal resource with more than 1.3 million articles, detailed abstracts and full text. Best for popular music and performance.
Dates Covered: 1874-present.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books and dissertations on North American history, covering the United States and Canada. (For other countries or regions, use the database Historical Abstracts.) "Dates covered" refers to publication dates included; all historic eras are addressed, from B.C. to present day.
Dates Covered: 1964-present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The full text of more than 100 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities, including the journal Studies in Popular Culture.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.
Dates Covered: 1890-1982.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
This collection features ten long-running and highly influential trade and popular magazines which document all aspects of cinema going, the film industry and the evolution of television and popular culture in the US and UK.
Dates Covered: 1880-2000.
While doing an article search you may very well come across descriptions of dissertations and theses. The Find Full Text @ DePaul link will not lead you to the actual document when in fact we probably do have online access through ProQuest Dissertation & Theses database. Be sure to try looking there.