Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University Library DePaul Library

Step 5. Find Articles

To find articles on your topic, use your search strategy in the library's databases.

Start with Academic Search Complete, a multidisciplinary database (which means it covers most topics.)  Then move on to some subject databases, which you can find using our Research Guides.  You may also browse our comprehensive A-Z List of databases.  If you're unsure which databases to search, Ask A Librarian for a suggestion.

Getting Started with Academic Search Complete

Where's the Full Text?

If a PDF or Full Text option isn't available...

1. Click on Find Full Text @ DePaul
2. Choose View Online
3. If these options aren't available, choose Get It to request via Interlibrary Loan

 

undefined

*Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain an electronic copy of any article we do not have online.

Search Tips

 

Phrases

Enclose phrases in " " to find all words together.

"United States" 

"body image"

"gun control"

Shorten search terms

Shorten search terms and add a * to retrieve singular, plural, and variant spellings.

advertis*

retrieves advertise, advertisers, advertising, advertisement, advertisements

Use limits

Most databases will allow you to apply limits to your searches and results, such as publication date, source type, scholarly, etc.

Search multiple databases

Try your search in more than one database. Ebsco will let you search multiple databases simultaneously. Look for "choose databases" above the search box. In ProQuest, use the "change databases" link in the banner to select multiple databases to search.