Article Databases
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. It provides abstracts and citations to peer-reviewed literature, including journal articles, books, book chapters and theses.
Dates Covered: 1887-present. - APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to many of the journals indexed in PsycInfo, including the ability to search within full-text of the articles.
Dates Covered: 1894-present. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present.
Extent: Multidisciplinary - CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full text access to nursing journals, practice acts, and conference proceedings.
Dates Covered: 1980-present. - PTSDpubs This link opens in a new windowThis database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. Formerly known as: PILOTS.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowIndexes biomedical journals from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Also links to molecular biology databases of DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data.
Dates Covered: 1966-present.
Access note: Freely available to the public.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text articles for well over 1,000 journals in science, health and the social sciences.
Dates Covered: 1996-present.
Extent: Multidisciplinary - Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Provides information on measurement instruments in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Dates Covered: 1985-present.
Access note: Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Sage Encyclopedias
- SAGE Handbook of Innovation in Social Research MethodsComprehensive critical assessment of the field. Topics include: the social context of research; design and data collection; integrating the analysis of new data types; sampling, inference and measurement.
- SAGE Handbook of MeasurementCovers the full spectrum of core issues related to design, method, and analysis within measurement studies.
- SAGE Handbook of Quantitative Methodology for the Social SciencesPresents the latest quantitative developments in scaling theory, measurement, categorical data analysis, multilevel models, latent variable models, and foundational issues.
Conducting Research: Tutorials and Guides
- Scholarly Sources: A How-To GuideThis guide provides a constructive visual tour through the sections of a scholarly article.
- Literature Reviews: An Overview for Graduate StudentsThis video created by librarians at North Carolina State University provides a detailed understanding of what a literature review is and the steps involved in the process. Viewing this video will demystify this academic endeavor.