Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Library Resources: Key Library Accounts and Related Tutorials and Guides
Use the LibrarySearch database to locate materials available through DePaul. LibrarySearch is also the interface to search for books from I-Share and Libraries Worldwide.
*The DePaul Library is a member of the I-Share partnership of 90+ Illinois academic libraries. You can borrow books from these libraries and have them delivered to our library free of charge.
*The Libraries Worldwide option is selected if you are not finding the materials you need at DePaul or in I-Share. This option searches libraries throughout the world. You can use the interlibrary loan platform (discussed below) to request materials from libraries within the United States.
Interlibrary Loan is the service for requesting articles that the DePaul Library does not have access to. Additionally, this service is also the platform for requesting books from libraries beyond the I-Share institutions. Interlibrary Loan requests for PDFs of articles take 2-6 days, while books may take 1-2 weeks to arrive and may have shorter loan periods than DePaul and I-Share books.
*Please note that loaning libraries have the right to recall their books from you prior to the due date.
Course Reserves (ARES)
Courses Reserves serves as the DePaul University course reserves systems and is available to all current students and faculty. Log into the Course Reserves system using your Campus Connect ID/password.
In Google Scholar, DePaul users can select Settings in the upper left corner and then click on Library links in the left-hand column. Search by entering DePaul and select the following options that appear: DePaul University LibrarySearch - Find Full-Text @ DePaul and save your settings and DePaul University - ProQuest Full-text.
*Now your Google Scholar search results will show Find Full-text @ DePaul when we have the full-text of the article in your list of results. Just click this link to see which DePaul databases have the article you need. If there's no Find Full-text link, use the DePaul Library Holdings link below the citation instead. If the full-text article is not available, students, faculty and staff may request the article using the Interlibrary Loan service.
Conducting Research: Tutorials and Guides
Literature Reviews: An Overview for Graduate Students
This video created by librarians at North Carolina State University provides a detailed understanding of what a literature review is and the steps involved in the process. Viewing this video will demystify this academic endeavor.
Creating Search Alerts in EBSCOHost
Keep current about trends and developments in your field by setting up search alerts in databases. This video explains how to schedule alerts in EBSCOHost databases including PsycINFO.