The Business Press
Articles appearing in magazines and newspapers are frequently the most timely sources of information on a company or industry. Corporate press releases, market research summaries and government statistics all tend to be reported as news.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of journals and trade publications in all business-related disciplines. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, company profiles, SWOT analyses, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, Harvard Business Review, and Harvard Faculty Seminar Videos.
Dates Covered: 1886-present.
*Upgraded from Business Source Complete in July 2024* - ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. This database covers business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information.
Dates Covered: 1971-present - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNot a suggested starting point for your research; consider ABI or Business Source instead if you're interested in searching a wide array of business-related publications. LexisNexis' strength is its newspaper and broadcast transcripts coverage.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The full text of more than 70 scholarly journals in business, finance and economics; search by keyword or browse by date. Typically there is a 2-5 year gap in coverage, so do not use for current events. - Access World News This link opens in a new windowContains local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources including newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, newswires, and news videos.
Extent: Multidisciplinary
- Target Market ResearchShort, 3 minute long video outlining a search strategy for finding target market content in the business press.
Need Local Coverage?
- Chicago Tribune Historical Content This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the complete paper version of the newspaper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. More recent years of the Chicago Tribune are available through the Chicago Tribune Current Content collection as well as US Newsstream (ProQuest).
Dates Covered: 1849-2010.
- Crain's Chicago BusinessThis publication's website