Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Center for Research Libraries This link opens in a new window
Critical resources available through interlibrary loan for research and teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Print Guides to Collections
You may find it useful to use a published guide to find a resource or an archive. Here are some of the main tools for finding archives, located in DePaul's Reference Collection. You can find more print guides like these by searching in the catalog. Use the term catalogs in your search.
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections.
Descriptions of approximately 72,300 collections located in 1406 different repositories with approximately 1,085,000 index references to topical subjects and personal, family, corporate, and geographic names.
Guide to federal records in the National Archives of the United States
Two volumes describe the nearly 1.7 million cubic feet of federal records transferred to the custody of the US Archivist as of October 1, 1994. These records are from the government's executive, legislative, and judicial branches. V.3 contains the index to these descriptions. All types of federal records textual, electronic, and audiovisual are covered.
Catalogue of the pre-1500 western manuscript books at the Newberry Library
The Newberry Library in Chicago possesses a major collection of medieval and Renaissance manuscript books, including bibles and breviaries, books of hours and book of homilies, and seminal texts on astronomy. Saenger (curator of rare books, Newberry Library) has identified the text, illumination, physical structure, and provenance for each of the 200+ books in the collection. Handsomely produced and illustrated.
Census of medieval and renaissance manuscripts in the United States and Canada
3 vols. Published under the auspices of the American Councils of Learned Societies.
Online Guides to Collections
The main online tools for locating archival collections are listed below. While these guides are online, the sources themselves are not. Search these databases to find descriptions of materials held in archives and special collections around the world.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections owned by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. Useful for searching for historical documents, personal papers and family histories held in archives.
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Find both online documents and information about material preserved in the archives.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
When searching, Limit Type to: Archival Materials. Contains records from the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections from 1986-present.
Planning a Trip
Sometimes the only way to find a document is to make a special trip to an archive.
For more advice on what to expect when visiting an archive, read this Survival Guide to Archival Research from the American Historical Association.