Costume and dress
- Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new windowCoverage of global design and crafts from 1500 BCE to the present day with cross-searchable access to encyclopedias, reference works, e-books, images, and more.
- Costume Institute at the Metropolitan Museum of ArtSearch or browse the Collections Database for access to thousands of fashion and costume images.
- Fashion: The Victoria and Albert MuseumBrowse and search the fashion and costume collections at the Victoria and Albert Museum.
- Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume DesignMade available via the University of Illinois, The Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design is a valuable source of documentation on the history of theatre. It is a rare collection of original materials on the theatre comprising over 5000 items from more than 150 productions in England and the United States.
Images from news, history and art
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowArtstor is a collection of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, humanities, and social sciences for research and teaching purposes.
Extent: Multidisciplinary
- Chicago CollectionsExplore Chicago Collections lets researchers, teachers and students search many locations at once. Our unified search lets you locate thousands of archival collections and digital images at member institutions all over the Chicago area.
- DePaul Image Reserves via Artstor Digital Library This link opens in a new windowIncludes images from the Library's now-retired slide collection, as well as other sources provided by faculty members, specifically tailored for in-class use, instruction, individual study and research. Access to this collection is limited to current DePaul faculty, staff and students. You must log in with your Campus Connect ID and password.
- J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America This link opens in a new windowAn archive of the history, operation, and policies of the J. Walter Thompson advertising firm. Includes: print advertisements, publications, business records, and other internal company documents pertaining to a wide range of brands, companies, and industries.
- NYPL Digital GallerySearchable database of images, including Civil War photographs, illuminated manuscripts, Japanese prints, early American maps, illustrations relating to the American Revolution, and archival photographs of New York City buildings and streetscapes.
- Trade Catalogues and the American Home This link opens in a new windowIllustrated primary source documents portraying commercial tastes, consumer trends, domestic consumerism, and life and leisure in America, 1850-1950.
