Accounting Research Guide: eBooks

This is the final volume in a four-book miniseries dealing with disruption in audit and financial reporting, this last book focusing on the importance of developing the purpose and concept of auditing in a holistic rather than piecemeal way, whilst reflecting on the case for audit reform. It looks beyond current events and explores possible new entrants to the market, the role of regulation versus professionalism, developing a more prominent and reinvigorated auditing profession and how to meet wider stakeholder needs.

Adopting a case-based approach, Global Financial Investigations introduces the fascinating world of forensic accounting and investigating transnational financial crimes, providing an overview of core concepts and current industry trends, together with practical guidance to equip readers with the knowledge required to combat complex financial crimes. This accessible text covers a breadth of financial investigations and broader financial crime issues, from investigating illicit trade and reconstructing financial records, to conducting regulatory investigations. Supported by real-world cases from different geographic regions, readers will learn the practical hands-on forensic accounting and financial investigation skills required in today's work environment.

This book provides insights into the role of environmental management accounting practices and the impact of various governance aspects dedicated to the environment in enhancing corporate environmental performance. It also examines the extent of environmental disclosure based on organizational-level data from Italian listed firms. These mechanisms work together to influence policies and management decisions, particularly in guiding businesses towards more sustainable choices. The book suggests that firms can use robust and versatile governance mechanisms to improve managerial oversight by incorporating diverse viewpoints, ideas, perspectives, and abilities into the decision-making process.

In a rapidly evolving world where Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG) considerations are at the forefront of business and investment decisions, understanding the intricate interplay between ESG factors and corporate performance is paramount. This book demystifies ESG by providing empirical insights from the unique perspective of China, shedding light on the impact of ESG on financial performance and corporate governance. It investigates the impact of environmental expertise, social variability, and board governance model on firm performance.

The role of firms, corporations, and businesses in shaping social outcomes has long been a key area of focus for economics and business scholars. With growing attention on addressing climate change, reducing social inequalities, and upholding human rights, there is an increasing interest in how corporate activities impact society. This book examines these pressing issues through the lens of fundamental theories of the firm, particularly drawing on the Italian tradition of Economia Aziendale, which views the firm as a vehicle for meeting human needs and generating social value. The book begins by introducing the anthropocentric theory of the firm and explores the connection between accounting practices and sustainable management.

In recent decades, a growing awareness of companies' important role within society emerged. Companies are considered accountable for their actions and their commitment to sustainability has become essential. Sustainability is a critical success factor and a source of competitive advantage that guarantees survival over time. The process of change necessarily passes through corporate disclosure: consequently, many businesses have begun to incorporate environmental and social issues in their reports to demonstrate their commitment.

This book presents fundamental aspects of financial accounting, its basic terminology, the accounting process and the preparation of a journal, ledger, trial balance, income statement and balance sheet. It also introduces complex topics like tools of management accounting, sustainability reporting and financial reporting. The volume comprehensively delivers lessons and examples to build strong accounting skills guiding readers to learn how to read and analyse financial statements, and discusses the theoretical concepts followed by elaborating on the accounting process in a simple and lucid style.

This book seeks to explore the transformative impact of emerging technologies on the accounting and finance sectors, with a specific focus on how innovations such as artificial intelligence and digital currencies can align with human-centric values like sustainability, corporate responsibility, and ethical governance. It provides a comprehensive analysis of the challenges and opportunities presented by 'Era 5.0,' where technological advancements are coupled with societal progress. Featuring cutting-edge research from leading scholars and industry experts, the collection spans a wide array of topics.

The financial information provided to governments, creditors, investors etc. by businesses has been verified by auditors since ancient times. In its modern form, the independent public accounting profession has its roots in 19th century Scotland. A distinctive feature of this profession is that it consists of private for-profit businesses - operating as sole practitioners, partnerships, but mostly as large accounting firms. This book traces the development of this important stream of research that applies economic analysis to the study of financial statement audits by professional public accounting firms.

This textbook provides the foundation for a course that takes PhD students in empirical accounting research from the very basics of statistics, data analysis, and causal inference up to the point at which they conduct their own research. Starting with foundations in statistics, econometrics, causal inference, and institutional knowledge of accounting and finance, the book moves on to an in-depth coverage of the core papers in capital market research. The latter half of the book examines contemporary approaches to research design and empirical analysis, including natural experiments, instrumental variables, fixed effects, difference-in-differences, regression discontinuity design, propensity-score matching, and machine learning.

This book addresses challenges caused by COVID-19 crisis on financial reporting and information management systems. Information access, transmission and rapid changes in the operating environment revealed inadequacies of international financial reporting standards. Accounting and information are critical elements for business success. While accounting processes financial information and more often guided by standards, information sciences bothers on having access to the right information.

Conventional economic and accounting systems have been exposed by the limitations of market-driven mechanisms, where public services, education and healthcare have been subordinated to profit, exacerbating the inequalities between people and countries. Italy was one of the earliest countries to be affected by the COVID-19 pandemic and also one of the hardest-hit. The successes and failures of the Italian response provides a blueprint for the factors determining the ability of institutions to meet these challenges.

In today's rapidly evolving accounting landscape, success hinges on embracing cutting-edge technologies. Data analytics and blockchain technology have become indispensable tools for accountants as businesses increasingly digitize their operations. To remain at the forefront of the profession, accountants must possess the ability to decipher complex data and uncover emerging trends. Moreover, understanding the inner workings of blockchain technology is paramount for providing sound advice to clients. By continuously staying abreast of these groundbreaking technologies, accountants can secure their position as highly sought-after professionals.

Wirecard was the largest economic scandal in the history of Germany. Following the collapse of Wirecard, numerous lawsuits, both criminal and civil by equity and debt investors, were filed not only against Wirecard but also against the auditor Ernst & Young. This book demonstrates that a proper audit in accordance with the auditing standards would have uncovered the fraud much earlier, and details what went wrong.

In today's dynamic business landscape, understanding the economic roles of accounting is essential: more than simply measuring change in value, accounting information plays a vital role facilitating exchanges, whether within an organization itself or in capital markets. The authors take the view that earnings and other accounting outputs help firms function more efficiently by making contracts more effective, aiding decision-making, bridging information gaps, enabling price discovery, and reducing trading costs.

In the era of digital transformation, the healthcare industry stands at a significant crossroad. With Value-Based Healthcare (VBHC) at the core of this transition, the role of accountants is evolving dramatically. This book brings these pieces together to guide accountants and interested readers through the changing landscape.

Digital era reporting undergoes a seismic shift as automation takes center stage. The transition from manual reporting to real-time automated systems enhances precision and efficiency and reduces errors, empowering decision-makers. However, this era of digital reporting brings forth a new set of challenges, from data security and privacy concerns to the imperative need for robust cybersecurity measures.

This book elucidates the digital transformation of accounting by examining the countless challenges academic institutions encounter in the wake of technological progress. This underscores the importance of accountants in enhancing their skill set to align with today's evolving digital landscape. The text evaluates cutting-edge technologies, such as artificial intelligence, data analytics, and blockchain, exploring their impact on accounting decision-making processes.

The fusion of technology and knowledge transfer has become a pivotal force in the ever-evolving landscape of accountancy, auditing, and finance. Harnessing Technology for Knowledge Transfer in Accountancy, Auditing, and Finance delves deep into technology's revolutionary potential, dissecting advancements like artificial intelligence, blockchain, data analytics, machine learning, and cloud computing. Through examination and analysis, this book unveils the immense applicability of these technologies in facilitating the transfer of knowledge within the intricate web of financial industries.

All aspects of our work and private lives are increasingly measured and managed. But how has this 'audit culture' arisen and what kind of a world is it producing? Cris Shore and Susan Wright provide a timely account of the rise of the new industries of accounting, enumeration, and ranking from an anthropological perspective, drawing on political economy, ethnographic observation, and genealogical excavation. Audit Culture is the first book to systematically document and analyze these phenomena and their implications for democracy.

Mainstream accounting rules, namely International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS), used in conventional banking, employ financial logics and principles which are at odds with Shariah and therefore unsuitable for reporting the results of Islamic banks. The book is an effort to explain the Islamic accounting principles and practices for Islamic Financial institutions and to juxtapose them to mainstream accounting principles in a simple and practical manner.

Introductory Accounting gives you everything you need to know about basic financial accounting. This book covers: Structuring your business and choosing an accounting method,; Setting up an accounting system and basic operating procedures; Creating employee records, maintaining a payroll system, and accounting for benefits; Keeping tax and benefit records; Reporting costs; Closing out cash journals and employee accounts at month-end and balancing ledgers; Preparing month-end and year-end statements and reports; Producing a balance sheet and monthly profit-and-loss (P&L) statements; Using accounting software.

An introduction to the fundamentals of accounting and how it is used that will help students apply accounting as a usable, everyday business tool. It adopts an intuitive, informal approach to describe basic principles - what they are, why they exist and how they are used - to help students see the connections between different parts of accounting and the rest of the business world. Written by an award-winning teacher and former management accountant, it encourages students to engage with the material by using questions and worked examples to test knowledge and understanding as they read.

Introductory Financial Accounting and Reporting covers key topics in concise and clear chapters with illustrative examples. Geared towards exam topics, it will help you to master the fundamentals of topics such as: The statement of financial position The income statement Capital and revenue expenditure Depreciation, disposals and revaluation Accruals and prepayments Irrecoverable debts, estimates and provisions It also covers the more complex elements of interpretation of financial statements and preparing financial statements from a trial balance while introducing you to the regulatory frameworks that must be adhered to.

Introduction to Accounting has already stood the test of time, and this new and improved Third Edition will ensure that it remains one of the best, if not the "best ever" introductory textbooks on accounting'- "Michael Sherer, University of Essex " The fully revised and updated Third Edition embraces the basic techniques and underlying theoretical concepts in accounting and shows how these are applied in various circumstances.