Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles & Streaming Audio
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Start here for background information on musical styles, time periods, composers, and more. Contains The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and other music encyclopedias.
Access note: Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly and trade periodicals on every aspect of classical and popular music. Best for popular music, music education, jazz, and performance; also includes some foreign-language material.
Dates Covered: 1979-present.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio for over 500,000 tracks from Naxos and other labels. Includes a searchable and browsable catalog, liner notes, composer biographies, opera libretti and synopses, and pronunciation guide. Emphasis is on classical music with jazz and world music represented.
Access note: Limited to 15 simultaneous users.
DRAM This link opens in a new window
Provides streaming audio access, original liner notes, and essays from New World, Composers Recordings, and other independent labels with an emphasis on American music.
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Provides access to reviews, interviews, and articles from music publications focusing on Rock and Roll.