Articles
Search article databases for neighborhood information by searching the neighborhood AND your related subject term. For example Pilsen AND Gentrification.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present. - America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books and dissertations on North American history, covering the United States and Canada. (For other countries or regions, use the database Historical Abstracts.) "Dates covered" refers to publication dates included; all historic eras are addressed, from B.C. to present day.
Dates Covered: 1964-present
- Explore Chicago Collections: NeighborhoodsExplore Chicago by neighborhood via Explore Chicago, a search engine that allows users to find archival material across Chicago Consortium member institutions.
DePaul Area
- Lincoln Park Neighborhood CollectionDigitized documents from the Lincoln Park Conservation Association and other Lincoln Park neighborhood collections held in the DePaul University Archives, documenting community growth beginning with the redevelopment plans of the 1950s.
- Explore Chicago: The Lincoln Park NeighborhoodsMapping project linking current-day Lincoln Park to twelve historical "walks" designed to highlight the evolving character of the city blocks anchored by DePaul University and the parish of St. Vincent’s Church. Each walk corresponds to different types of establishments and provides a glimpse into past entertainments, residences, industry.