Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chicago Tribune Historical Content This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the complete paper version of the newspaper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. More recent years of the Chicago Tribune are available through the Chicago Tribune Current Content collection as well as US Newsstream (ProQuest).
Dates Covered: 1849-2010.
Chicago Defender - Historical Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text of this historically important African American newspaper from 2010 back to the first issue.
Dates Covered: 1910-2010.
Provided by the Chicago Public Library. The 10-year run of the Examiner, while incomplete, extends from 1908 to 1918 and represents the longest run of the paper still available.
Chicago Reader (Microform Holdings)
The Chicago Reader is a free weekly newspaper, nationally recognized as a leader in the alternative press. Since 1971, the Reader has served as Chicago's political conscience, cultural guide, and music authority.
Hyde Park Herald
Access all known copies of the paper from 1882-present. Searchable by date or subject.
Current News Sources
Search for full-text articles in the Chicago Tribune from 1991 - present. For access to articles dating 1849 - 1990, see the Chicago Tribune Historical Edition.
Chicago Sun-Times (DePaul holdings)
Online access from 1992, with back issues available on microfilm.
Chicago Defender - Current Issues
Historically important African American newspaper. Back issues available on microfilm.
Chicago Reader (website)
Independent weekly published since 1971.
Chicago Reader (Print Holdings)
Independent weekly since 1971.
Reporting and analysis about issues surrounding race and poverty. Back issues in print at LPC, website with partial archives.
Block Club Chicago
A nonprofit, neighborhood news organization dedicated to delivering reliable, nonpartisan and essential coverage of Chicago's diverse neighborhoods. Block Club Chicago is able to find and tell the stories that are often overlooked or neglected by traditional news media.
Local news on the Chicago suburbs.
Crain's Chicago Business
This publication's website offers the weekly top lists, but limited article content. Instead, use one of our databases to search and access fulltext.
A public-affairs series airing Monday through Thursday each week with features on Chicago life.
The student newspaper of DePaul University.
Stories & Trivia
Curious City stories originate with questions submitted by the public. WBEZ producers and editors regularly sift through those questions and work with reporters, radio hosts, videographers, photographers, bloggers, comic artists and even musicians to find the best answers.
Videos originally aired on WTTW explore interesting Chicagoans as they take us to where they work, live, and play.
These videos on all things Chicago aired first on Chicago Tonight, WTTW’s nightly newsmagazine, and have been grouped by subject.