University Library DePaul Library

Primary Source Microfilm Collections at DePaul

DePaul University Library owns the following microfilm collections at the Lincoln Park Campus Library.  This list does not include periodicals that are also available on microfilm.

Japanese Relocation Camp and Assembly Center Newspapers

22 reels of microfilm

This collection of Japanese relocation camp newspapers record the concerns and the day-to-day life of the interned Japanese-Americans. Although articles in these files frequently appear in Japanese, most of the papers are in English or in dual text. Many of the 25 titles constituting this collection are complete or substantially complete. A sampling of titles include: Rohwer Outpost, Poston Chronicle, Gila News Courier, Tulean Dispatch, Granada Pioneer, Minndoka Irrigator, Topaz Times, Manzanar Free Press, Denson Tribune, and Heart Mountain Sentinel.

Women's studies manuscript collections from the Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe College. Series 2, Women in national politics

52 reels of microfilm

This valuable collection of materials from the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College tells the story of the fight for voting rights for women at the national, regional, and local levels. These reels include records on women involved in national politics, like Mary Dewson and Jeannette B. Rankin.

Colonial Latin American manuscripts and transcripts in the Obadiah Rich collection

33 reels of microfilm

The Rich Collection, held in the New York Public Library, contains 102 sets of 149 bound volumes from 1492-1843 pertaining to the discovery and conquest of Latin America. 

Latin American history and culture: an archival record. Series 1, The Yale University collection of Latin American manuscripts.

52 reels of microfilm

The collection contains some 184 manuscript volumes and unbound documents relating to the Spanish colonization of Latin America, dating from the 16th to early 20th centuries. Materials include correspondence, government documents (including reports, commissions, decrees, and awards), church documents, poetry and other writings on civil, military, economic, religious, and social topics. Materials originate from Spain; Mexico and Central America; the Caribbean; and South America, from Columbia south through the Andean region to Argentina and Paraguay. 

Princeton University Latin American microfilm collection. Supplement 3, Women and gender issues in Brazil 

3 reels

Collection of pamphlets, serials, broadsides, posters and fliers, etc. that reflect recent circumstances in Latin America. Ephemera of collection relates primarily to events of 1980-2000. 

Princeton University Latin American pamphlet collection. Peru

44 rolls

The material reproduced here covers a broad range topics, including government reports, conference or working papers, research center working papers, literary magazines and journals, political campaign documents, election results, statistical studies, legal documents, newspapers, speeches, publications of human rights organizations, labor union tracts, and mission statements of religious groups.  Primarily relates to events 1980-2000.

Scholarly Resources microfilm edition of the Alexander Crummell collection

10 reels

From the holdings of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division: The New York Public Library, Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations.
A clergyman, missionary, scholar, and teacher, Alexander Crummell (1819-1898) became recognized as the senior African-American priest in the Episcopal church, and his eloquent writings were among the first, if not the first, scholarly works in aid of African-American advancement. This important collection brings together Crummel's letters and sermons.
Born a free black in New York City, Crummell graduated in 1839 from Oneida Institute and was ordained in Philadelphia in 1844. Between 1848 and 1853, he studied in England; he next traveled to Liberia as a missionary for the Episcopal church. He returned to the United States in 1872, and thereafter he taught at Howard University, founded the American Negro Academy, and authored such substantial volumes as Africa and America (1891).

The materials in this microfilm publication are arranged in two series: Letters (Roll 1), and Sermons (Rolls 2-10).

Papers of Eleanor Roosevelt, 1933-1945

20 reels

This microfilm collection documents her interaction with the leading figures of the 1930s and 1940s, as well as her involvement in some of the country's most far-reaching reform movements for social change long before they won popular acceptance.

Guide to the Collection and reel index

Papers of the League of Women Voters, 1918-1974 

Guide to the Collection and reel index Part 1Part 2Part 3

Papers of the American slave trade. Series A, Selections from the Rhode Island Historical Society

Guide to the Collection and reel index Part 1, Part 2

Papers of the American slave trade. Series B, Selections from the Newport Historical Society

Guide to the Collection and reel index

The Women's International League for Peace and Freedom, United States Section, 1919-1959

97 reels.

The Swarthmore College Peace Collection is the official repository for the records of the United States Section of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom (WILPF). 
Accompanied by printed reel guide with title: Records of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom, United States Section, 1919-1959. 

Guide to the Collection

Albion W. Tourgée papers, 1801-1924

60 reels

Jurist and author. Resident of Greensboro, N.C., 1865-1879. Letters, legal and military documents, business papers, manuscripts and printed copies of many of his novels, articles, poems, speeches, diaries, scrapbooks, and notebooks. 

Costumes du siecle de Louis XIV

13 reels

17th century prints from the collection of the Dept. of Prints and Photographs of the Bibliothèque nationale, France. 
Title on reel containers: Costumes du regne de Louis XIV. 

The Assassination of John Fitzgerald Kennedy, 1917-1963

2 reels

Newspaper and magazine coverage of the week November 22-29, 1963. 

Charles S. Peirce Papers

33 reels