Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Literary Texts
These online collections allow you to search and read the full-text of poems, fiction, prose, and plays. You may find them useful if you are looking for specific occurrences of a word or as an alternative way of reading the text.
Literature Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Literature Online portal gives access to the complete suite of tools and resources, including author profiles, full-text literature collections, scholarly criticism, reference tools, audio recordings of Shakespeare's plays, video of poetry readings and allows for users to create personalized accounts to save searches and citations.
Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window
Collection of poetry and fiction produced in the Caribbean during the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.
EEBO (Early English Books Online) This link opens in a new window
EEBO allows users to view and search digital facsimiles of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and other works printed in English from 1473-1700. Containing 125,000 titles, this collection includes the first book printed in English by William Caxton, early quarto editions of Shakespeare's plays with the renowned First Folio edition of 1623 and the earliest editions of classics such as Chaucer's Canterbury Tales and Malory's Morte d'Arthur.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
The first large-scale attempt to make full-text books freely available on the Internet. Included are Public Domain editions of everything from Alice in Wonderland to the complete works of Shakespeare.
Access note: Freely available to the public.
South and Southeast Asian Literature This link opens in a new window
Collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas. Focuses on works composed during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras.
African American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Poems by African Americans. Search by keyword, poem title, author, genre, or time period.
American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Poems from the Colonial period to the end of the 19th century.
Canadian Poetry This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of more than 19,000 poems and offers a comprehensive survey of Canadian poetry from the eighteenth century to the early twentieth century.
English Poetry This link opens in a new window
Contains essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. 180,000+ poems by 1,250+ poets. 2nd edition.
Faber Poetry Library This link opens in a new window
Poems published by Faber and Faber in the 20th century.
Twentieth-Century African American Poetry This link opens in a new window
A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
Twentieth-Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Over 50,000 poems by 300+ American poets, including: Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
Twentieth-Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window
A collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 English poets.
Early American Fiction 1789 -1875 This link opens in a new window
700+ first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.
Early English Prose Fiction This link opens in a new window
200+ full text works from the period 1500?1700, Includes works by key writers such as John Bunyan, Sir Philip Sidney, Thomas Nashe, and Aphra Behn.
English Drama This link opens in a new window
A unique collection of 3,900+ plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.