ABD 243 (Webb): Black Religion and Chicago: Find Articles

Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present.

Focusing on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.

Provides full text coverage extending back into the 19th century. It includes bibliographic records for material about the Bible, archaeology and antiquities; human culture and society; world religions and religious studies; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; and theology, philosophy and ethics.

Provides access to digital images, maps, photos, letters, descriptions of archival collections, and other resources, made available by the Chicago Collections initiative, a consortium of more than 20 libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, and other cultural heritage organizations across the Chicago region.
Access note: Freely available to the public.

Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London. It covers publications from 1906 to the present and over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion, in addition to conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews.