Encyclopedias & Handbooks
The Oxford Handbook of African American Theology by Call Number: Lincoln Park Stacks ; 230.08996073 O984c2014ISBN: 9780199755653Publication Date: 2014-08-01The Oxford Handbook of African American Theology brings together leading scholars in the field to offer a critical and comprehensive analysis of this theological tradition in its many forms and contexts.
- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the PresentFocuses on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period. The years 1619-1895, from the colonial period to the age of Frederick Douglass, are covered in a print encyclopedia, Lincoln Park Reference, call number R. 973.0496073 E56f2006.
- Encyclopedia of African and African-American ReligionsThe Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions, the second volume in the acclaimed Religion and Society series, breaks fresh ground on the subject of African and African-American religion and its influence throughout the world.
- Encyclopedia of Religion - Literature: African American"Through all phases of its history, religion—as worship, context, idea, trope, symbol, influence, value, and inspiration—has abounded in African American literature. Since the first Africans arrived on the shores of the New World, the imaginative impulse to envision and create has shaped the development of African American religious life; and the expression of religious doctrines and creeds has provided source material, formal techniques, symbolic language, and thematic orientation for African American literature."
- The SAGE Encyclopedia of the Sociology of ReligionThe SAGE Encyclopedia of the Sociology of Religion takes a three-pronged look at this, namely investigating the role of religion in society; unpacking and evaluating the significance of religion in and on human history; and tracing and outlining the social forces and influences that shape religion.
Dictionaries
Global Dictionary of Theology by ISBN: 9780830824540Publication Date: 2008-10-10Martinez and Simon Chan edit approximately 250 articles written by over 100 contributors representing the global spectrum of theological perspectives.
- Critical Terms for Religious StudiesProvides a concise history of each critical term, explores the issues raised by the term, and puts the term to use in an analysis of a religious work, practice, or event.
Data
- Pew Research Center: ReligionPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
- Pew Research: Religious Landscape Study Blacks in the Chicago Metra AreaConducted in 2007 and 2014, surveys more than 35,000 Americans from all 50 states about their religious affiliations, beliefs and practices, and social and political views.
- Association of Religion Data Archives This link opens in a new windowQuantitative data sets for the study of American religion.