ABD 243 (Webb): Black Religion and Chicago: Primary Resources

This resource provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers published by or for African Americans between 1827-1998. This collection features papers from more than 35 states, and was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States: Those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.

Indexes US ethnic and minority publications; with full text.
Dates Covered: 1960-present.

Provides full page and article images with searchable full text of this historically important African American newspaper from 2010 back to the first issue.
Dates Covered: 1910-2010.

Covering primarily the 1950s and 1960s and providing access to primary source documents that focus on how ordinary citizens in the smaller communities viewed, participated in and lived through this historical era. Includes letters, general correspondence, logs, demonstration plan outlines, transportation logs and plans, meetings, worship services, photographs, newsletters, news reels, interviews and musical recordings from Black, Latine, Native American and Asian American Pacific Islander communities.

Database focusing on the study of the historical development of black culture. Includes monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community.
Dates Covered: 1841-present.

The HistoryMakers Digital Archive is an extensive online database of over 9,000 hours of full-text and video interviews with African-Americans distinguished in the fields of science, culture, politics, the arts, and public life.

Full access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections on JSTOR which includes the full text of more than 2,600 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities. Includes access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections including JSTOR Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability.