Selected Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals, books and dissertations on all time periods of world history, excluding the United States and Canada; for those countries use the database America: History & Life.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThe full text of more than 2,000 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities. Searchable and browsable by date. For the research you're conducting in this course, we recommend limiting a search to specific subject areas (see screenshot to the right).
- Politics Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. Dates covered: 1914-present.
- Sociology Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields and provides full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more. Dates covered: 1952-present.
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage extending back into the 19th century. It includes bibliographic records for material about the Bible, archaeology and antiquities; human culture and society; world religions and religious studies; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; and theology, philosophy and ethics.
Limiting to Subjects in JSTOR
After you enter your search terms, select a subject area then conduct your search. This will eliminate any irrelevant sources from appearing in your search results and will actually save you time. Some subject areas that might be useful are: anthropology, archeology, architecture, art and art history, asian studies, political science, or religion.
Getting Started with JSTOR
Lawrence, Donald, 1911-1996. West Gate, East end of Silk Road. 1984-09-17. Retrieved from the Digital Public Library of America, http://umedia.lib.umn.edu/item/p16022coll361:27696. (Accessed April 24, 2022.)