Explore Key Themes
If you'd like background information on issues related to this exhibition, a few links are provided below. For specific article and book recommendations, visit the "Suggested Reading" section of this research guide.
Global War on Terror
Conversi, Daniele. "Post-September 11 Conflicts." The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace, Oxford University Press, 2010. Oxford Reference. https://tinyurl.com/yxsjmx8e. (Requires DePaul login).
"Global War on Terror." Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/War_on_terror.
Guantánamo Bay and Extralegal Detainment
"Guantánamo Bay Detention Camp." Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guantanamo_Bay_detention_camp.
Chicago Policing and Torture/Connection to Guantánamo
Ackerman, Spencer. "Bad Lieutenant: American Police Brutality, Exported from Chicago to Guantánamo." The Guardian. 18 Feb. 2105, https://tinyurl.com/2p8s6ezv.
"Richard Zuley" Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_Zuley
"Jon Burge." Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jon_Burge
Countering Dehumanizing Effects of War and Detention
Chiara Volpato and Luca Andrighetto. "Dehumanization." International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (Second Edition), 2015. https://www-sciencedirect-com.ezproxy.depaul.edu/science/article/pii/B978008097086824035X
"Dehumanization." Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dehumanization
[will add additional source on psychological effects of detention]
Article Databases
- Politics Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIncludes PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Covers international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. It forms part of the Social Science Premium Collection.
Dates covered: 1914-present.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles from art journals and museum bulletins. Coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994; full-text coverage for selected periodicals begins in 1997. Dates Covered: 1984-Present.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowCovers public affairs, policy & politics, international affairs & statistics. Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world, journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections on JSTOR which includes the full text of more than 2,600 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities. Includes access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections including JSTOR Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability. - Chicago Tribune Current Content This link opens in a new windowContains full text from the Chicago Tribune. Historical years can be accessed via the Chicago Tribune Historical Content collection.
Dates Covered: 1996-present. - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. It provides abstracts and citations to peer-reviewed literature, including journal articles, books, book chapters and theses.
Dates Covered: 1887-present.
