What is an Oral History?
The SAGE Dictionary of Qualitative Inquiry defines oral history as follows:
This is a method of gathering and preserving historical information recorded through interviews with participants in past events and ways of life. Oral history aims to gain a more complete or unique understanding of the past as experienced both individually and collectively by soliciting memories, reminiscences, and testimony from specific informants or respondents.
This short video from SAGE Research Methods provides an overview of oral history projects and how to integrate interview information with other source materials.
Find Oral Histories
- Oral History Collections at the Library of CongressDigitized oral history collections on a range of topics and from across the country.
- African American Communities This link opens in a new windowFocusing on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
- HistoryMakers Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowThe HistoryMakers Digital Archive is an extensive online database of over 9,000 hours of full-text and video interviews with African-Americans distinguished in the fields of science, culture, politics, the arts, and public life.
- StoryCorpsThe collection accessible here represents a growing selection of these stories, all recorded with StoryCorps, the non-profit organization that has, since 2003, given people of all backgrounds and beliefs the chance to record conversations about their lives.
Oral History Resources
Organizations
- Oral History AssociationSince 1966, the Oral History Association has served as the principal membership organization for people committed to the value of oral history. OHA engages with policy makers, educators, and others to help foster best practices and encourage support for oral history and oral historians.
- Centre for Oral History and Digital StorytellingThe Centre for Oral History and Digital Storytelling (COHDS/CHORN) is based at Concordia University. It explores the links between oral history, digital media, the arts and education.
- GroundswellOur mission is to provide mutual support, training, and resources in the practice of grassroots oral history in order to build the creativity and power of social justice movements
Journals
- Oral History ReviewThe official journal of the Oral History Association, published 1973-2019.
Tips for Recording
StoryCorp has a smartphone app that you can use for recording your oral history. Optionally, you may also archive your interview on their website (and at the Library of Congress). Make sure to get permission from your interviewee before doing this.
You an also export the audio file without publishing the story. Here are some helpful links.
There are also some more generic guides available. Note that many of them suggest you use an external microphone for better sound quality.
Contact Me!
Best Practices
- Principles for Oral History and Best Practices for Oral HistoryThe Oral History Association's official best practice documentation for collecting oral histories.
- Planning an Oral History InterviewAdvice on executing an oral history project from the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress.