Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Article Databases & Resources
American Film Scripts Online, Vol. 1
Provides access to 1100+ scripts with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters, and people related to the scripts. In addition, facsimile images for more than 500 of these screenplays are also included.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Access to journals in communication, mass media and other closely-related fields of study.
Dates Covered: 1920-present.
Film & Television Literature Index
Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 200 journals and magazines, and selected coverage of 300 more; also provides access to books.
Dates Covered: 1971-present.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
Indexes journals in dance, film, television, drama and theater; with abstracts and some full text.
Dates Covered: 1864-present.
Access note: Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Provides cross-searchable access to a collection of screenplays and books on film, film genres, filmmakers, and film making techniques published by Bloomsbury and Faber & Faber Ltd., supplemented by an interactive timeline of cinema history.
Sony Picture Classics
Sony Pictures Classics (abbreviated as SPC) is an American film production and distribution company that is a division of Sony Pictures. It was founded in 1992 by former Orion Classics heads Michael Barker, Tom Bernard, and Marcie Bloom (similar to Miramax, Searchlight Pictures, and Focus Features). It distributes, produces and acquires specialty films such as documentaries, independent and art films in the United States and internationally. As of 2015, Barker and Bernard are co-presidents of the division.
Open Educational Resources
CINEJ Cinema Journal
CINEJ Cinema Journal is a peer-reviewed semiannually published scholarly film studies journal. It is published by the University Library System, University of Pittsburgh and is cosponsored by the University of Pittsburgh Press.
The publication aims to cover an original area of research, developing and establishing a series of methodologies for comparative studies in film. To that end, it also explores the relationship between film and the traditions of comparative literature, and with other contemporary arts such as painting, photography, music, dance and audio-visual media.
Film Criticism is a peer-reviewed, online publication whose aim is to bring together scholarship in the field of cinema and media studies in order to present the finest work in this area, foregrounding textual criticism as a primary value. Our readership is academic, although we strive to publish material that is both accessible to undergraduates and engaging to established scholars.
LibGuides Proactive Chat Widget