Explore Key Themes
This exhibition addresses broad themes of questioning exclusion and inequity, exploring geographies and memories and how they establish sense of self, concepts of home, culture, and family. Related concepts include: colonialism, natural environment, urban spaces, travel, performance and labor.
Performance, Sculpture, Exploration, Myth and Technology
Cotton and Labor in South Texas, Trans-Generational Trauma
Seeds of Empire: Cotton, Slavery, and the Transformation of the Texas Borderlands, 1800-1850Call Number: 338.17351097 T682S2015ISBN: 9781469624242
The White Scourge: Mexicans, Blacks, and Poor Whites in Texas Cotton CultureCall Number: 305.8009764 F663W1997ISBN: 9780520207233
Fragments of Trauma and the Social Production of Suffering: Trauma, History, and MemoryCall Number: e-bookISBN: 9781442231863
Textiles, Family, Memory, Heritage
Common Threads: A Discursive Text Narrating Ideas of Memory and Artistic IdentityCall Number: e-bookISBN: 9781443860192
Almost All Aliens: Immigration, Race, and Colonialism in American History and IdentityCall Number: e-bookISBN: 9780415935937
The Legacy of Christopher Columbus in the Americas: New Nations and a Transatlantic Discourse of EmpireCall Number: 970.015 B2939lISBN: 9780826519542
Article Databases
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles from art journals and museum bulletins.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Academic Search Complete
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present.
Extent: Multidisciplinary - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowPsycInfo is the most comprehensive database of psychology and is an excellent choice for finding articles on trans-generational trauma.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals on performance art as well as dance, film, television, drama and theater
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals on North American history and would be an excellent choice to find articles on the World's Fair: Columbian Exposition.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
