Guides: Public Interest Law /Pro Bono Work: Databases / Web Resources

Overview of Databases and Web Resources

DePaul does not have any databases that specifically deal with Public Interest / Pro Bono Law resources. Public Interest / Pro Bono Law often intersects with other areas of law (ex. elder law, inmate / advocacy for the incarcerated, disability law, refugee law, juvenile law, environmental law, ect.) . Many law schools will recommend resources on their Public Interest Law dedicated pages or at their institute or clinical pages which focus in this area of law. Below are a list of databases and web resources that may contain materials of interest to someone working or researching in the area of public interest law / pro bono work / cause lawyering.

Database List

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Academic Search Complete
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present.
Extent: Multidisciplinary
DePaul College of Law Repository This link opens in a new window
A collection of faculty publications and student journals from the DePaul College of Law.
Access note: Freely available to the public.

Encyclopedia of Social Problems
Covers topics related to the study of social problems. Topics include: Aging and the Life Course; Community, Culture, and Change; Crime and Deviance; Economics and Work; Education; Family; Gender Inequality and Sexual Orientation; Health; Housing and Urbanization; Politics, Power, and War; Population and Environment; Poverty and Social Class; Race and Ethnic Relations; Social Movements; Social Theory; and Substance Abuse.

Hein Online This link opens in a new window
Indexes law reviews and other legal journals; with full-image articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections on JSTOR which includes the full text of more than 2,600 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities. Includes access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections including JSTOR Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability.

Oxford Handbook of U.S. Social Policy
Historical overview of U.S. social policy from the colonial era to the present, as well as analysis of policy areas such as health care, pensions, food assistance, housing, unemployment benefits, disability benefits, workers? compensation, family support, and programs for soldiers and veterans.
Sargent Shriver National Center on Poverty Law
Legal documents and access to Clearinghouse Review, a journal devoted to legal and policy papers relating to poverty law and community development.
Access note: Freely available to the public.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Uses historical census data and demographic information to create maps and reports of demographic and social change throughout history. Includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000.
Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly working papers; with abstracts and some full-image papers.
Extent: Multidisciplinary
USA.gov This link opens in a new window
Official U.S. portal to federal, state, local, tribal, and international government information and services.
Access note: Freely available to the public.
Extent: Multidisciplinary

Washington Information Directory
Provides contact and descriptive information on more than 10,000 federal government offices, regulatory agencies, congressional committees, judicial offices, public interest groups, nongovernmental organizations, and international organizations. Contains verified and updated mailing addresses, phone and fax numbers, e-mail and Web site addresses, and contact names.