Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Audio/Visual Resources
Flickr Creative Commons
Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license.
Internet Archive: Audio
This library contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download.
Free online courses and lessons. Expert-created content and resources for every subject and level.
Open University on iTunes U. This link opens in a new window
free educational content that users can download from Apple's iTunes Store straight to their computer or mobile devices. The Open University joined iTunes U in 2008, making available a range of high quality audio-visual assets used in their courses. Featuring over 280 albums with content from more than 136 courses, the OU on iTunes U reflects the diversity and strength of the University's curriculum and academic brand.
Access note: Freely available to the public.
Public Domain Project
Thousands of historic media files. Completely free & made available by Pond5.
Shared Shelf Commons
A free, open-access library of images. Search and browse collections with tools to zoom, print, export, and share images. Institutions that subscribe to Shared Shelf, a Web-based service for cataloging and managing digital collections, can share their images with the world via the Commons.
Hosts millions of Creative Commons-licensed videos. Filter to isolate them for browsing.
A collection of over 36 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute
Millions of Creative Commons-licensed videos. Filter to isolate them for browsing.
Open Music Resources
Music uploaded to Bandcamp with a Creative Commons license.
A community music remixing site featuring remixes and samples licensed under Creative Commons licenses. Search the archive archives for music for your video,
podcast or project at dig.ccMixter.
Free Music Archive
The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads directed by WFMU (https://wfmu.org/). The FMA provides a legal and technological framework for curators, artists, and listeners to harness the potential of music sharing. While the Free Music Archive is free and open to anyone regardless of registration or other requirements, written and audio content is curated, and permission to upload/edit content is granted on an invitation basis.
A collaborative database of Creative Commons- licensed sounds. Browse, download and share.